Facebook Twitter Flickr YouTube FourSquare LinkedIn Google Plus

Northern Illinois University E-Waste Recycling

Electronics Recycling

Illinois State Law establishes a statewide system for recycling and/or reusing electronic products by requiring electronic manufacturers to participate in the management of discarded and unwanted electronic products.  Disposing of these electronic items in the landfill is strictly prohibited by state law.

Northern Illinois University collects unwanted electronics from staff and departments throught Property Control.  Campus departments can contact Property Control at 815-753-1437.  The University does not accept and electronic waste from the outside community, and Campus Recycling does not manage e-waste at this time.  
If you have electronics to recycle, please contact the DeKalb County Health Department, City of DeKalb, or the City of Sycamore.  A schedule for electronic waste collection in DeKalb County can be found here.  

Click here for a complete list of Illinois EPA registered E-waste collection sites.  

Examples of E-waste include:

  • Televisions
  • Monitors
  • Printers
  • Scanners
  • Fax Machines
  • Computers (laptop, notebook, netbook, tablet, desktop)
  • Electronic Keyboards
  • Electronic mice
  • Portable Digital Music Players
  • Videocassette Recorders (VCRs)
  • Digital Video Disc (DVD) Players
  • Digital Video Disc Recorders
  • Video Game Consoles
  • Small Scale Servers
  • Digital Converter Boxes
  • Cable Receivers
  • Satellite Receivers
  • Other miscellaneous electronic devices

Unaccepted Items:

  • White Goods: Refrigerators, Dish Washers, Stoves, Air Conditioners, Dehumidifiers, etc.
  • Light Bulbs
  • Liquids or Items Containing Liquids: gas motors, hazardous waste, etc.
  • VHS Cassette Tapes or Data Tapes
  • Gas Cylinders: Fire Extinguishers, Propane Tanks, etc.

Collection Information

Electronic waste collection procedures are currently in transition.  Please contact NIU Materials Management/Property Control if you are a department on campus at 815-753-1437.  The public collection schedule for DeKalb County can be found here