Skip navigation

Outstanding Women Student Awards

The Outstanding Women Student Awards encourages the full participation of students who identify as women in all facets of the university experience and in their communities. This award supports their development of corresponding strengths, both cooperative and competitive while celebrating achievements and contributions, including those not usually recognized by other award programs.

2017 Recipents

  • Crystal N. Agbu
  • Aura Beatriz Amad
  • Katelyn Bagadiong
  • Jordyn Bowen
  • Brooke Buttacavoli
  • Rhiannon Catherwood
  • Ashley Davis
  • Jennifer Davis
  • Rebekah Ernat
  • Eleanor Evins
  • Megan Haduch
  • Ashley Heiberger
  • Miranda E. Hernandez
  • Jacqueline R. Hollis-George
  • Meghan Irene Huntoon Lindeman
  • Darcey Ingram
  • Alexandria Isom
  • Tertia "Abby" Jeppson
  • Karli Johnson
  • Mary Grace Kelly
  • Jennifer Kinney
  • Jana Knezovic
  • Monique Langrehr
  • Emily Laudont
  • Rocio Angelica Leon
  • Lark Lewis
  • Kimberly Manno
  • N'Jema Arlene McIntyre
  • Victoria Muller
  • Megan O'Brien
  • Jessica Parsons
  • Tracy Peed
  • Michelle Penley
  • Taylor Perkins
  • Leyla Puskar
  • Brittany Rios
  • Paige Russell
  • Chelsea Selvey
  • Helen Spader
  • Ericka Sparby
  • Reilly Steidle
  • Alexandra Tavlas
  • Kathryn Voight

The Process

Nominations are invited from interested faculty, staff and students. If a student is nominated, they will be notified and invited to complete an application form which includes specifics of their scholarship, leadership service to the university, community involvement, goals and challenges.

The completed applications are reviewed by a selection committee comprised of NIU faculty and staff. The awards will be bestowed to the selected students during a reception. Their nominators, family and friends are welcome to attend.


Eligibility for the awards is restricted to students who identify as women, with an expected graduation date during the award year, i.e., to seniors, third-year law students and graduate students who will receive their degrees December, May or August of the award academic year (i.e., December 2016, May 2017 or August 2017).


The application form completed by nominees includes data concerning departmental and university leadership roles, community involvement, other awards and scholarships, goals and aspirations and obstacles overcome in pursuit of their education. Preference is given to candidates with a 3.0 GPA or better.