May 12, 2012 Commencement and Awards Ceremony


The Department of Political Science celebrated it's annual spring commencement and awards ceremony on Saturday, May 12th, at Boutell Memorial Concert Hall.  Almost 500 family members and friends came to cheer on the students as they were recognized for their academic achievements.

Congratulations to the following young men and women:

Liam R. Steadman I - Dean's Award for outstanding scholarship and contributions to the university community

Liam R. Steadman I - Wilkinson Memorial Award for the highest cumulative GPA in his 4-year career at NIU

Patrick Homan, PhD candidate - Maryanov Award for intellectual capacity, commitment and character, qualities embodied by the late Professor Gerald S. Maryanov

John Grove, PhD candidate - Finkelstein Graduate Teacher of the Year Award for effectiveness and excellence in undergraduate teaching

Nora Lindvall, April Parker and Jenifer Puetz - NIU Outstanding Women Student Award for excellence in leadership, community involvement, and scholarship

Jesse Ruter and Stephen T. Samuels I - John G. and Barbara C. Peters Scholarship for Outstanding Public Service, given for outstanding contributions to public service through public service related internship, political campaign, government or student government

Adam Brown - Kevin McKeough Award for oustanding participation in the political process including work in political campaigns, interest groups, governmental agencies or election to public office

Adam Brown - Outstanding Undergraduate Paper Award for his paper "Economic Inequality and Voter Turnout: An Analysis"

Tyler Carolan, CJ Compher, Jesse Ruter and Gary Timmins - Washington, D.C., Congressional Internship Scholars who will intern on the Hill this summer for Rep. Randy Hultgren, Rep. Dan Lipinski, Congressman Donald Manzullo and Congressman Mike Quigley

Adam Brown, Nora Lindvall, Tia Messino, Jenifer Puetz, Adam Schuster - Department Honors

The Department graduated 33 Political Science Scholars with cumulative GPAs of 3.0 to 3.49 and 37 Students of Distinction with cumulative GPAs of 3.5 to 4.0.