Awards & Recognition

Political Science recognized for contributions in international education

International Programs reception - photo receiving awardThe NIU Department of Political Science has been named the Outstanding International Department for 2007, an honor recognizing its significant contribution to internationalization efforts across campus.

The NIU Division of International Programs presented the department with the award during its International Education Week reception.

Political science faculty members specialize in such topics as international security studies, the politics of Thailand and Indonesia and politics and development in the Muslim world. With graduate programs in Comparative Politics and International Relations, the department also attracts to campus strong scholars with international interests, including Department Chair Christopher Jones and Professor Danny Unger, as well as new faculty members Kikue Hamayotsu and Y.K. Wang.

“Because of the strong interests of department faculty throughout the years in international research, particularly Southeast Asian issues, the Department of Political Science played an active role in creating both the Center for Southeast Asian Studies and the Division of International Programs,” said Deborah Pierce, executive director of International Programs. “The department continues to maintain productive connections to both groups.”

A number of political science faculty members have won Fulbright fellowships in recognition of their outstanding international research, including Daniel Kempton, Gregory Schmidt, Dwight King and Professor Emeritus Clark Neher. King serves as director of the Center for Southeast Asian Studies, a post formerly held by Neher.

Department faculty are becoming more active as well in study abroad, notably through the NIU at Oxford program and a new program for summer 2008, “The Political Economy of Thailand.”