Joining the Commission

  1. The Presidential Commission on the Status of Women shall be composed of 15 members, drawn from all major constituencies of the university which includes faculty, supportive professional and operating staff, and students. In addition to the 15 members the following five areas will have an appointed representative: Provost's Office; Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies; Gender & Sexuality Resource Center; Affirmative Action; and Athletics.

  2. In keeping with Section 16.7.1 of the Northern Illinois University Bylaws, commission membership will include minority representation. Members shall be appointed by the president from a pool of nominations and volunteers solicited from major university constituencies.  One member shall be selected by the commission members to be the liaison representative to the Affirmative Action and Diversity Resources Committee.

    Non-student members shall be appointed to serve staggered three-year terms. Student members will serve one-year terms and will be eligible for reappointment. Any commission member may remain beyond the three-year commitment if elected to serve as chair for the coming year. Additionally, to preserve continuity, the chair of the previous year may be reappointed.

Every spring a campus announcement is posted where President Baker solicits nominations to the commissions for the upcoming academic year. For additional information, please email: