About Us


The Presidential Commission on the Status of Minorities shall be composed of 16 members, most of whom shall be members of Northern Illinois University's racial minority communities. Membership shall be made up of four members of the full-time teaching faculty, four supportive professional staff, four operating staff, and four students nominated by thc Northern Illinois University Student Association.

A representative of the ombudsman's office and the office of affirmative action shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the commission. One member shall be selected by the commission members to be the liaison representative to the Affirmative Action and Diversity Resources Committee.

Members shall be appointed by the president from nominations or volunteers solicited by the president through an annual university-wide process. Faculty and staff members shall be appointed to serve three-year staggered terms. Student members shall serve one-year terms. The commission shall elect a chair, vice chair, and secretary from the membership who will serve one-year renewable terms.

The commission shall advise the president on the status of minority students, faculty, and staff and to recommend improvements in the quality of life and opportunities for minorities in the university community. Commission members shall serve on behalf of the entire university community.