Community

Local governments work with NIU to deliver training to employees and the public, survey public opinion on local needs, and conduct strategic studies on growth and future enrollments. Social service agencies and local organizations also find NIU experts and programs to meet educational needs

P-20 Community Projects

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


A

Activate Elgin Henry, Beverly
Associate Professor 
College of Health and Human Sciences
NIU
bwhenry@niu.edu
(815) 753-6340
Academic Summer Camps Pietrowski, Mark 
Coordinator
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences 
NIU
pietrowski@niu.edu
(815)753-5200
Athletic Training Partnership Schlabach, Gretchen
Associate Professor
College of Education
NIU
gas@niu.edu
(815) 753-1424

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


B

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


C

Campus Assessment Message for Community Partners Douglass, Carolinda
Director
Provost
NIU
cdoug@niu.edu
(815) 753-7120

Center for P-20 Engagement
Bellert, Marilyn
Associate Director
Center for P-20 Engagement  NIU
mbellert@niu.edu
(815) 753-8051
Class Meets Community:
An Honors Seminar Experience
Castle, Nancy
Professor
College of Health and Human Sciences
NIU
ncastle@niu.edu
(815) 753-9126
College Bridge Program Bohanon, Felicia 
Director
Office of Precollegiate Programs
NIU
fbohanon@niu.edu
(815) 753-1868
Community Collaboration in Physical Education Teacher Education Parker, Jenny
Associate Professor
College of Education
NIU
jparker@niu.edu
(815) 753 6361

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


D

District 428/NIU Partnership Callahan, Susan
Associate Professor
Coordinator of CLAS Teacher
Preparation and Development
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
callsusan@niu.edu
(815) 753-6610

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


E

Economic Education:
Partnerships for Progress
Dempsey, Joanne
Executive Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
jrd@niu.edu
(815) 753-1579
Excellence in the Middle: Enhancing Mathematics Pedagogy with Connections in Science and Engineering Shafer, Mary
Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
mshafer@niu.edu
(815) 753-6764

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

F


Frontier Physics Seivert, Patricia
STEM Outreach Coordinator
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
pseivert@niu.edu
(815) 753-1201

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


G

The Genocide and Human Rights Institute Bowers, J.D.
Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
jbowersi@niu.edu
(815) 753-6655 
Girls Scouts - Enhancing Engineering Pathways Rajashankar, Suma 
Visiting Associate Professor
College of Engineering and Engineering Technology
NIU
getwise@niu.edu
(815) 753-1442

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


H

Higher Education Alliance for the Rock River Region (HEARRR) Cotsones, Rena
Executive Director
NIU Outreach Rockford
rcotsones@niu.edu
(815) 753-0834


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


I

Illinois Rural HealthNet Kraus, Alan 
Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
akraus@niu.edu
(815) 753-8945

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


J

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


K

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


L

Latino Youth: Moving Up, Reaching Out Alexander, John
Assistant Director,
Center for Latino and Latin American Studies
NIU
jalexander@niu.edu
(815) 753-8281

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


M

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


N

NIU Digital Convergence Lab Click, Aline
Assistant Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
aclick@niu.edu
(815) 753-0673

NIUNet
Kuryliw, Herb
Network and Technology Architect
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
hkuryliw@niu.edu 
(815) 753-7220
NIU Outreach Credentialing Programs

 

Mann, Donna
Assistant Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
dmann@niu.edu
(815) 732-6249
NIU's Program in Certified Family Life Education Bowers, Susan
Associate Professor
College of Health and Human Sciences
NIU
DrBowers@niu.edu
(815) 753-8537
NIU STEM Outreach

 

 

Sievert, Patricia
STEM Outreach Coordinator
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
psievert@niu.edu 
(815) 753-1201
Northern Illinois Regional History Fair Petty Johnson, Anne
Associate
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
NIU
apetty@niu.edu
(815)753-5200
Northern Illinois Region V IJAS Science Fair; Academic Summer Camps Pietrowski, Mark 
Coordinator
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences 
NIU
pietrowski@niu.edu
(815)753-5200
Northern Illinois Transition Initiative Johnston-Rodriguez, Sarah
Assistant Professor
College of Education
NIU
sjohnston@niu.edu
(815) 753-6378

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


O

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


P

Partnering to Develop Homegrown Leaders Crawford, Jon
Assistant Professor
College of Education
NIU
jcrawford@niu.edu
(847) 864-9830
PASCAL University Regional Engagement (PURE) Crawford, Paul
Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU

Robinson, Diana
Assistant Director
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
pcrawford@niu.edu
(815) 753-9677



drobinson@niu.edu

(815) 753-9677
The PEERS Network: No Teacher Left Inside Carter, Robert
Instructor in Outdoor & Environmental Education
College of Education
NIU
carter@niu.edu
(815) 753-9070
Project Educare Pender, Debra A.
Assistant Professor
College of Education
NIU
dpender@niu.edu
(815) 753-4906
Project REAL Downey, Portia
Project REAL
College of Education
NIU
pdowney@niu.edu
(815) 753-5072
Promoting Transition Through Technology:
Project MY VOICE
Johnston-Rodriguez, Sarah
Assistant Professor
College of Education
NIU

Van Laarhoven, Toni
Associate Professor
College of Education
NIU
sjohnston@niu.edu
(815) 753-6378



tvanlaar@niu.edu
(815) 753-8084

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Q

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


R

Reaching Out Through Art and Reading Carger, Chris
Professor
College of Education
NIU
ccarger@niu.edu
(815) 753-9267
Regional Development Institute Lewis, John 
Associate Vice President
Administration and University Outreach
NIU
jlewis@niu.edu
(815) 753-0936

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


S

The Social Transitions Program Valentiner, David
Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
dvalentiner@niu.edu
(815) 753-7086
School-University Partnerships Smaldino, Sharon
School-University Partnerships
College of Education
NIU
ssmaldino@niu.edu
(815) 753-9144
Strength and Balance for Life:
Oak Crest Partnership with KNPE
Stuart, Moira
Program Director
BS Exercise Science College of Education
NIU
mestuart@niu.edu
(815) 753-0137
Student Mathematics Achievement
Under No Child Left Behind
Kim, Jeongmi
Associate Professor
College of Education
NIU
jkim1@niu.edu
(815) 753-4404

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


T

Tents of Hope Reisberg, Mira
Assistant Professor
College of Visual and Performing Arts
NIU
mreisberg@niu.edu 
(815) 753-7865
Thresholds in Education Howell, Charles
Associate Professor & Chair
College of Education
NIU
chowell@niu.edu
(815) 753-1562
Toward Excellence in Teaching Schael, Diane
Pre-School Principal
Cambridge Lakes Charter School
dianeschael@cambridgelakespreschool.com 
(847) 464-0337
Tutoring Internship Cox-Henderson, Judy
Coordinator
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
jcoxhenderson@niu.edu

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


U

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


V

Visual Culture and Literacy with St. Mary School Smith-Shank, Deborah
Professor
College of Visual and Performing Arts
NIU
debatart@niu.edu
(815) 751-2631
Video Tutorials: A Convenient Medium
for Learning to Use Assistive Technologies
Van Laarhoven, Toni
Associate Professor
College of Education
NIU
tvanlaar@niu.edu
(815) 753-8084
VPA Summer Camps Page, Renee
Program Administrative Assistant
College of Visual and Performing Arts
NIU
rpage@niu.edu
(815) 753-1450

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


W

Where Have All the Boys Gone? Males and Foreign Language Learning Morris, Michael
Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
NIU
mmorris1@niu.edu
(815) 753-6449

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


X

Y

Z