Northern Illinois University

Northern Today


Keep up with NIU media coverage


Meet art major Angela Witte


Get the latest information on the state budget crisis and how it affects NIU


New Music Festival brings
Big Apple sounds to campus

NIU Liberace Jazztet to play
Chicago Jazz Showcase tonight

Christian faculty-staff group
to meet Tuesday for prayer

What's cooking at Ellington's?

Raymond Grant recipient
to give presentation Thursday

International Programs hosts
series of brown bag lunches

CSEAS hosts speaker series

ROTC to hold practice maneuvers
with Army Blackhawk helicopters

English Department to hold
showcase of student writing

Secretary of State to bring
mobile office to campus

Roger Kalisiak Lecture Series
promotes work-life balance

Tailgate planned April 24
before spring football game

Retirement reception announced
for Vice Provost Joe Grush

Retirement reception planned
for CAAR's Nancy Kasinski

LAS announces summer camps

Spring 'Toolkit' online

Chamber Choir to perform

Alumni Association invites
travelers to Rockies Webinar

Asian American Center will
recognize April heritage month

Children's Choir to perform

Alumni Association to host
Avalon Quartet concert

PCSM to host 'Friendship' luncheon

Graduate School to honor
its outstanding students

Journalism program to host
50th annual awards banquet

'5K the Night Away' race
supports Grad Sport Society

Families sought to host
youth leadership programs

Speaker to address diversity
concepts in corporate America

College of Law to host
5K run-walk, barbecue

Test prep registration open

Athletics seeks volunteers
for two April track meets

Accounting sets cutoff dates

Geology hosts spring colloquia


A printable version is available

Northern Today - April 12, 2010

Rebecca Butler and Chuck DowningRebecca Butler, Chuck Downing
named Presidential Teaching Professors for 2010

To the average person, classes designed to prepare for a career as a school librarian or as an information technology professional might not sound exciting.

Students of Rebecca Butler and Chuck Downing would reply that those people just haven’t found the right teacher..


Bobbie Cesarek, Jes Cisneros, Patrick Gorman and Michael StangSPS announces recipients
of 2010 Presidential Awards
for Excellence

Four members of the Supportive Professional Staff (SPS) have been chosen to receive the university’s Presidential Awards for Excellence.

The recipients are Bobbie Cesarek, associate athletics director for compliance; Jes Cisneros, assistant director of the Honors Program; Patrick Gorman, video/AV coordinator in Media Services; and Michael Stang, executive director of Housing and Dining.


John E. La TouretteCampus invited to ceremony
for La Tourette Hall naming

NIU faculty, staff and students are invited to the naming ceremony for the newly designated John E. La Tourette Hall, formerly known as the Faraday Hall West building.

The ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. Tuesday, April 13, in the building’s foyer with overflow accommodations in Room 200 and in a tent located north of the building along Normal Road. Both overflow locations will have live video feeds.


NIU College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Celebrating 50 YearsLiberal Arts & Sciences caps 50th year
with awards, forum on liberal learning

NIU’s College of Liberal Arts & Sciences will recognize the accomplishments of 10 prominent faculty and staff, past and present, at a 2 p.m. awards ceremony Friday, April 16. The ceremony will conclude a year-long celebration of the college’s 50th anniversary.


Photo of a group of peoplePresident Peters invites nominations for four
presidential commissions

President John Peters invites nominations of faculty, staff, and students for appointment to the four presidential commissions. The nominations will be for appointments in Academic Year 2010-2011.


NIU Alumni Association logoAlumni Association names
award recipients for 2010

Twelve to be honored April 29

NIU’s Alumni Association annually recognizes the achievements of outstanding alumni through the Distinguished Alumni Award, the F.R. Geigle Service Award, the Outstanding Young Alumni Award and the Outstanding Alumni Award for each of the seven academic colleges at NIU.


Photo of a footballRoady’s Humanitarian Bowl clinches
four-year deal to match MAC, WAC

Roady’s Humanitarian Bowl executive director Kevin McDonald last week announced the signing of agreements that set the stage for a four-year relationship pitting top teams from the Mid-American Conference (MAC) against top opponents from the Western Athletic Conference (WAC).