A few words about the Basic or Intermediate RiderCourse completion card:

Completion cards for the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) and Intermediate RiderCourse (IRC) will be mailed after course completion. It may take up to four weeks after your course before it is mailed from our office depending on workload and staffing. Course dates, projected mailing dates and actual mailing dates are listed in the table below. Check often to see when cards for your course have been mailed. The completion card used for the BRC and IRC are the same card and will say "BEGINNER RIDER COURSE STUDENT COMPLETION CARD" at the top of the card.

The completion card is good for one year from date of issue, which would be the last day of your BRC or IRC. The card should waive both the written and riding tests at the Secretary of State’s office.  There may be instances when you are required to take one or both of their tests for various reasons. The card is yours to keep and while many people laminate their card do not do so until after you have completed the licensing process.

We will strive to get the course completion cards mailed as soon as possible after a course. While we have taken all possible steps to make the course paperwork delivery process as efficient as possible it can still take up to a week before the paperwork from your course can start being processed.

Please allow four weeks from the last day of your course before contacting the office. If you do not receive your card in exactly four weeks after the last day of your course, please contact our office via the email address that should be provided during class. Please do not contact the Project office before that four week period.  Phone calls and email about completion cards slow down the processing of course paperwork. If you call the Project office seeking information about your completion card, in order to better serve you, please have your specific course information at hand (such as course number, location and/or dates).

Be aware that Northern Illinois University requests return service on all mail, which means that if your mail is being forwarded or you have a hold in place, the post office will return your card to the Project. If your card is returned to us, we will attempt to contact you via email to verify your mailing address.

Lost Card

A lost completion card can be replaced for up to one year from original date of issue. Please contact the Project office to request a copy of the necessary form. There is a $15 handling fee. The course completion date will be listed as the date of issue on the replacement card not the date the replacement card is issued.

Completion Card Mailing Schedule

Below is the projected mailing schedule for course completion cards.

Weekend Course Dates 

Cards Will be Mailed No Later Than:

Mailed

March 27 - 30 Monday, April 21 04/11/2014
April 3 - 6 Monday, April 28 04/17/2014
April 10 - 13 Monday, May 5 04/23/2014
April 17 - 20 Monday, May 12 04/28/2014
April 24 - 27 Monday, May 19 05/09/2014
May 1 – 4 *Tuesday, May 27 - NIU Closed May 26 05/15/2014
May 8 – 11 Monday, June 2 05/19/2014
May 15 - 18 Monday, June 9 05/27/2014
May 22 - 25 Monday, June 16 06/03/2014
May 29 – June 1 Monday, June 23 06/13/2014
June 5 - 8 Monday, June 30 06/20/2014
June 12 - 15 Monday, July 7 06/25/2014
June 19 - 22 Monday, July 14 06/30/2014
June  26 - 29 Monday, July 21 07/08/2014
July 10 - 13 Monday, August 4 07/21/2014
July 17 - 20 Monday, August 11 07/28/2014
July 24 - 27 Monday, August 18 08/04/2014
July 31 – August 3 Monday, August 25 08/11/2014
August 7 - 10 *Tuesday, September 2 - NIU Closed Sept 1 08/18/2014
August 14 - 17 Monday, September 8 08/25/2014
August 21 - 24 Monday, September 15
August 29 - 31 Monday, September 22
September 5 - 7 Monday, September 29
September 12 - 14 Monday, October 6
September 19 - 21 Monday, October 13
September  26 - 28 Monday, October 20
October 3 -5 Monday, October 27
October 10 - 12 Monday, November 3
October 17 - 19 Monday, November 10
October 24 - 26 Monday, November 17