Skip navigation

Press Release

Selvey and Wiggins Champions of
Moot Court Competition

February 29, 2016

DeKalb, Ill.--The Northern Illinois University College of Law hosted its 34th annual Lenny B. Mandell Moot Court Competition for second-year law students. The finals, held on February 27, 2016, saw the Moot Court champion team of Chelsea Selvey and Stephanie Wiggins emerge victorious over the combination of Matt Cole and Jessica Parsons. Wiggins was also named Best Oralist of the final round.

The teams argued before the distinguished bench of the Honorable Joseph G. McGraw (’85), Chief Judge of the 17th Judicial Circuit of Illinois; the Honorable Timothy J. McCann (’88), Presiding Judge in the Kendall County (IL) Circuit Court; and Winnebago County Public Defender Nick Zimmerman (’00). 

The case on appellate review argued by the teams involved a police search for a suspect in a robbery using location records obtained via a smartphone app and an expired warrant. The questions under review were: whether the non-trespassory collection of extensive triangulations records by law enforcement officials qualifies as a “search” under the Fourth Amendment; and if such activities do qualify as a “search,” whether the warrantless collection of such information requires that the evidence collected be suppressed.

Also being honored for their achievement in the competition were Candice Patrick and Dayshon Wagner, who were named Best Oralist and 2nd Best Oralist of the preliminary rounds, respectively. The team of Kevin McSwain and Fred Richardson won Best Respondent’s Brief and Cole and Parsons won Best Petitioner’s Brief.


For more information, contact:
Melody Mitchell
Alumni Events & Public Relations
(815) 753-9655 or

Contact Us


Apply Now!


Phone: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

General Information

Admissions Information: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

Other Questions: 815-753-1068
Swen Parson Hall 270

Request Information

Give to the College of Law

Law Library

Like, Join, and Follow us on

Facebook   Facebook Groups   Twitter  LinkedIn