Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism

Carole SilverNIU Law will host its 20th Annual Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism at 3:00 p.m. on Friday, April 5 in the Riley Courtroom of Swen Parson Hall.

This year's lecture, entitled “Re-contextualizing Professionalism,” will be given by Carole Silver, a Professor at Indiana University (Bloomington) Maurer School of Law who specializes in the effects of globalization and technology on ethics. Professor Silver also serves as the Director of the Law School Survey of Student Engagement, which provides national data on the engagement of law students in their law schools.

This lecture will consider the notion of professionalism from several frameworks. While professionalism tends to be construed as involving universal notions that apply regardless of context, it is not a static concept and it is useful to consider how context may influence its meaning. Among the contexts considered will be globalization and changes brought about by advances in technology, two forces considered recently by the American Bar Association’s Ethics 20/20 Commission in its review of the existing Model Rules of Professional Conduct.

The lecture will be followed by a reception and the 18th Annual Public Interest Law Society Auction.

The Francis X. Riley Lecture on Professionalism was established in 1994 to honor the late Professor Emeritus Riley, who devoted his life to the law and legal education. The lecture series brings distinguished speakers to the Northern Illinois University College of Law to discuss current issues relating to the legal profession. Previous speakers include:

Lawrence J. Fox 2012
Cherilyn Murer 2011
Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan 2010
Honorable John W. Darrah 2009
Professor Emeritus Gordon B. Shneider  2008
Justice Modibo Ocran 2007
Patrick J. Fitzgerald, Esquire 2006
Jim Ryan, Esquire 2005
Professor Bruce R. Jacob 2004
Honorable Thomas L. Kilbride 2003
Professor Robert F. Drinan, S.J. 2002
Nancy L. Kaszak, Esquire 2001
Professor Richard C. Boldt 2000
Cheryl Niro, Esquire 1999
Jerold S. Solovy, Esquire 1998
Professor David B. Wilkins 1997
Honorable Abner J. Mikva 1996
George E. Bushnell, Jr., Esquire 1995