Skip navigation

Alumni On the Move - Class of 1985

Alumni of the NIU College of Law are an accomplished and driven group, comprising a nationwide community of legal practitioners, judges, public servants, and educators. We are proud to highlight their distinguished achievements and activities. Check back regularly for updates and see how NIU Law alumni exemplify excellence in their professions.

Submit your information for Alumni On the Move.

  • Gregory W. Coffey was named a 2016 Leading Lawyer in Trust, Will & Estate Planning Law. He is with Mathis Maifan & Richter, Ltd in Edwardsville, IL. - April 2016
  • Nancy E. Joerg, senior attorney and managing shareholder of the St. Charles, IL office of Wessels Sherman Joerg Liszka Laverty Seneczko, was one of 47 female lawyers across the United States selected for inclusion in a book called Grit, the Secret to Advancement: Stories of Successful Women Lawyers. The book was published by the American Bar Association in July 2017. It contains a collection of letters from the attorneys, each sharing her advice, insight and experience as a female attorney who has achieved success in the practice of law.  
  • Nancy E. Joerg has been selected to the 2016 Illinois Super Lawyers list. No more than five percent of the lawyers in Illinois are selected by Super Lawyers. - March 2016
  • Ken KohlKen Kohl received the Anti-Defamation League's SHIELD Award for “significant contributions toward protecting the American people from hate crimes, extremism, and domestic and international terrorism.” Recipients are chosen by a committee of more than 20 agency heads in the Washington, D.C. region. Partnership agencies represent more than 90,000 personnel. - October 2015
  • Ken Kohl was named deputy chief of the National Security Section of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia. - August 2015
  • Joseph Kolar was elected treasurer of the Bohemian Lawyers’ Association of Chicago. - June 2017
  • Joseph E. Kolar was named a 2016 Leading Lawyer in Personal Injury Law: General and Personal Injury, Professional Malpractice. He is with Baizer Kolar & Lewis P.C. in Highland Park, IL. - April 2016
  • Joseph E. Kolar was named a 2011 Leading Lawyer in Personal Injury Law: General and Personal Injury Law: Professional Malpractice. - November 2011
  • Ingrid Lehnert was named Vice President & General Counsel, NAM Region, for Alstom Grid, Inc. in Philadelphia, PA. - November 2013
  • Michael J. Maher was named a 2016 Leading Lawyer in Environmental Law and Toxic Torts Defense Law. He is with Swanson Martin & Bell LLP in Chicago, IL. - April 2016
  • It was announced that Hon. Patricia Martin would be appointed by President Barack Obama as a member of the Commission to Eliminate Child Abuse and Neglect Fatalities. - August 2013
  • Ron Matekaitis was elected Circuit Judge to the newly-created 23rd Circuit Court of Illinois on November 6, 2012.
  • Hon. Joseph McGrawHon. Joseph McGraw has been named the new Chairman of the Conference of Chief Judges, effective December 11, 2014. Judge McGraw will take over leadership from current Conference Chairman Chief Judge Elizabeth Robb of the 11th Judicial Circuit, who is retiring from judicial service on December 31, 2014. Judge McGraw has served as the Conference's vice-chairman since April 2014 and has served as a member of the Conference since January 2012. - October 2014
  • Hon. Joseph McGraw was honored with the Distinguished Service Award for outstanding career achievements and devotion to the public good. - September 2013
  • Joseph G. McGraw has been elected chief judge of the 17th Judicial Circuit Court of Illinois. - October 2011
  • Robert Meltzer was the recipient of the Outstanding College of Law Alumni Award from the NIU Alumni Association. - May 2011
  • Phil Nicolosi has been selected to fill the Illinois 17th Judicial Circuit associate judge seat vacated by the retiring Associate Judge Gary Pumilia.  He began his term as judge on January 6, 2014.
  • David OlsonDavid Olson was once again ranked in the 2014 edition of the Chambers USA directory for excellence in the practice area of Labor & Employment: Employee Benefits & Compensation; he was also ranked in 2013.  He practices at the Milwaukee, WI office of Quarles & Brady. - May 2014
  • David P. Olson of Quarles & Brady in Milwaukee, WI was was named one of The Best Lawyers in America for 2012. - September 2011
  • D. Renee Schreoder was named a 2016 Leading Lawyer in Governmental, Municipal, Lobbying & Administrative Law; Public Finance Law; and Workers’ Compensation Defense Law. She is with Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP in Rockford, IL. - April 2016
  • D. Renee Schroeder was named a 2011 Leading Lawyer in Governmental, Municipal, Lobbying & Administrative Law; Public Finance Law; and Worker’s Compensation Defense Law. - November 2011

Back to Alumni on the Move main list

Contact Us


Apply Now!


Phone: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

General Information

Admissions Information: 815-753-8595
Swen Parson Hall 151

Other Questions: 815-753-1068
Swen Parson Hall 270

Request Information

Give to the College of Law

Law Library

Like, Join, and Follow us on

Facebook   Facebook Groups   Twitter  LinkedIn