Board of Visitors

The purposes of the Board of Visitors of the Northern Illinois University College of Law are to:

  • Increase awareness of the College's mission and programs within the Illinois legal community, with particular emphasis on the northern tier of the state;
  • Serve in an advisory capacity to the administration and the faculty in self-study and evaluation of the College and its educational programs;
  • Provide linkage between the College and the Illinois legal community and develop mechanisms for the interchange of ideas between the College and the legal profession;
  • Assist in developing strategies for enhancing the resources and financial support of the College; and
  • Advise the College with regard to recruitment and improvements in the areas of recruitment and retention of students and career counseling and placement.

2014-15 Board of Visitors
Northern Illinois University
College of Law


Louis ApostolChair
Louis G. Apostol ‘78
Exec. Director & General Counsel, Illinois Property Tax Appeal Board
Springfield / Des Plaines, IL

William HaddadVice Chair
Hon. William Haddad (ret.)

Circuit Court of Cook County
Chicago, IL

Kate McCabeSecretary
Kate G. McCabe '01

Judicial Clerk, Third District, Illinois Appellate Court
Chicago, IL

Salvatore BarbatanoSalvatore Barbatano
Of Counsel, Williams Williams Ratner & Plunkett
Birmingham, MI

Manual BarbosaHon. Manuel Barbosa
U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Illinois
Rockford, IL

John BurkeJohn Burke
Partner, Higgins & Burke
St. Charles, IL

Kenneth C. ChessickKenneth C. Chessick ‘84
Law Office of Kenneth Chessick, M.D., J.D.
Schaumburg, IL

Kelli M. ChildressKelli M. Childress 
Kane County Public Defender
St. Charles, IL

Vincent F. CorneliusVincent F. Cornelius ‘89 
Law Offices of Vincent F. Cornelius
Wheaton, IL

Robert K. DownsRobert K. Downs 
Downs Law Offices, P.C. 
Chicago, IL

Brent EamesBrent Eames '09
Whiteside & Golberg, Ltd.
Chicago, IL

Robert FiorettiAld. Robert W. Fioretti ’78
2nd Ward Alderman
Fioretti, Lower & Carbonara, LLP
Chicago, IL

Rosemary GulliksonRosemary Gullikson
Partner, Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal
Chicago, IL

James F. HoldermanHon. James F. Holderman 
United States District Court, Northern District of Illinois
Chicago, IL

Susan Fayette HutchinsonHon. Susan Fayette Hutchinson
Illinois Appellate Court, 2nd District
Woodstock, IL

Anthony IoscoHon. Anthony Iosco (ret.) ’78
Circuit Court of Cook County
Chicago, IL

Kenya Jenkins-WrightKenya Jenkins-Wright '03 
Greene and Letts
Chicago, IL

David KeayDavid Keay ’80
Keay & Costello, P.C.
Wheaton, IL

Thomas KilbrideHon. Thomas Kilbride
Chief Justice, Illinois Supreme
Rock Island, IL

Rich LenkovRich Lenkov ‘95
Bryce, Downey & Lenkov LLC
Chicago, IL

John S. MonicalJohn S. Monical ’94
Partner, Lawrence, Kamin, Saunders & Uhlenhop
Chicago, IL

Cherilyn MurerCherilyn G. Murer ’78
President/CEO, Murer Consultants, Inc.
Joliet, IL

Leanne Ebert MurphyLeanne Ebert Murphy
Walgreens Co.
Deerfield, IL

John O'BrienJohn O’Brien
Law Offices of John G. O’Brien
Arlington Heights, IL

Lonny OgusLonny B. Ogus ’78
Law Offices of Lonny B. Ogus
Chicago, IL

J. Matthew PfeifferJ. Matthew Pfeiffer ‘00
Owner, Pfeiffer Law Offices, P.C.
Naperville, IL

Janet A. PioliJanet A. Pioli '84
Shareholder, Brinks Gilson & Lione
Chicago, IL

Hon. Henry R. SimmonsHon. Henry R. Simmmons (ret.)
Managing Partner, Clifford Law Offices
Chicago, IL

Paul VellaPaul Vella ‘96
Vella & Lund
Rockford, IL