Economics Challenge Registration

Illinois Econ Challenge

Economics Challenge Registration

Teachers must fill out the brief online registration between January 1-February 15, on the Illinois EconChallenge ONLINE! site. Competition takes place during the spring semester.

Directions are provided in the How it Works section of the EconChallenge ONLINE! site. Following online teacher registration, Student Registration forms (one per student) and a Team Coach Registration form (one per teacher coach) must be downloaded, completed, and submitted to Econ Illinois. Teacher registration, once confirmed, will prompt a response e-mail describing how student team(s) of four can be created.

The Illinois Economics Challenge competition is open to teams of students currently enrolled in or who have previously taken Advanced Placement (AP Micro, AP Macro, or AP Micro and Macro), International Baccalaureate (pre-IB and IB), honors, two-semester, or any other advanced courses in economics (including courses taught by a secondary teacher where students earn college credit). All qualifying courses listed above must be taught by a secondary teacher. The program challenges students at an advanced placement level.

For additional assistance, phone Econ Illinois at 815.753.0356 or email

Is there a competition for consumer education, one-semester economics or personal finance students?

All high school students, regardless of courses taken, may participate in the Personal Finance Challenge. However, teachers of the following courses will be most interested in having students participate:

  • Business
  • Career & Technical Education
  • Economics
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Family & Consumer Science
  • Personal Finance


The Illinois Economics Challenge (ILEC) is a program of Econ Illinois receiving support from BMO Harris with in-kind support provided from the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

The National Association of Secondary School Principals has placed this program on the NASSP National Advisory List of Contests and Activities for 2015–2016.