Economic Education Day Board Awards 2012

Home Boards Awards 2012

Board Awards 2012

On October 23rd, Econ Illinois presented awards for outstanding and consistent support of Econ Illinois and economic education to a volunteer and a company at the Economic Education Day Award Luncheon at Union League Club of Chicago.

Jan Garner accepts the award for HSBC N.A.30 Years of Support - HSBC N.A.

HSBC N.A. was recognized as a partner of Econ Illinois and a supporter of economic education for 30 years.  Through financial support of The Stock Market Game program, the Illinois Economic Poster Contest and general support, HSBC has consistently given Econ Illinois the leverage to continue our work in providing resources and professional development to Illinois educators.  HSBC has also been a generous Honorary Event Chair sponsor of our American Dream Dinner since its inception in 2008.  Jan Garner, of HSBC, accepted the award for HSBC’s long-term dedication to our mission.


Richard Peterson Award - Anne Kaplan, Ph.D.

The Richard S. Peterson Award was established in 2000 to annually recognize one volunteer for outstanding commitment to the mission of the Council through extraordinary leadership and service.  This year, Econ Illinois presented the award to Board of Trustees' member, Dr. Anne Kaplan, Vice President of Outreach, Engagement, and Information Technologies at Northern Illinois University.

Dr. Kaplan has been a member of the Econ Illinois Board of Trustees for ten years and serves on the Executive Joseph Guinan accepts the Richard S. Peterson AwardCommittee as the Vice Chair of Personnel. She has championed the work of both Econ Illinois and of its affiliated NIU Center for Economic Education as key units of NIU that help expand outreach to K-12 schools throughout the state.