NIU Steering Committee

The Steering Committee was constituted in Fall 2011 and meets monthly.  Each member of the steering committee chairs a subcommittee charged with the collection, analysis, and evaluation of data and evidence focusing upon an aspect of the accreditation criteria: institutional mission; institutional integrity; academic program quality, resources, and support; academic program evaluation and improvement; or institutional resources and planning.

  • Doris Macdonald, Chair (Department of English)
  • Brianno Coller (Department of Mechanical Engineering)
  • Marc Falkoff (College of Law)
  • William B. Goldenberg (School of Music)
  • Mary Elaine Koren (School of Nursing and Health Studies)
  • Murali Krishnamurthi (Faculty Development/Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering)
  • Lara Luetkehans (Department of Educational Technology, Research and Assessment) (2012-2013)
  • Kristen Myers (Department of Sociology)
  • Elizabeth Towell (College of Business)
  • Laura Vazquez (Department of Communication)
  • Carol Logan Patitu (Department of Counseling, Adult and Higher Education) (2011-12)

Ex Officio:

  • Carolinda Douglass, HLC Liason (Office of the Provost)
  • Dan House (Institutional Research)
  • Donna Lynn (Office of the Provost)
  • Sherrill Morris (Office of Assessment Services) (2012-2013)
  • Christopher Parker (Office of Assessment Services (2013-2014)
  • Jeff Reynolds (Operational Analysis and Reporting)
  • Ritu Subramony (Office of the Provost) (2013-2014)
  • Virginia Cassidy, HLC Liason (2011-2012) (Office of the Provost)