Skip navigation

Graduate Students

James benco

B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Hydroseismicity, Induced Seismicity
jbenco1@niu.edu


William Bugbee

B.S., Geology and Chemistry, University of Georgia
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Reed Scherer
Research interests: Paleontology, Micropaleontology, Paleoclimatology
floyd73@uga.edu


Jason CoenenJason Coenen

B.S., University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Reed Scherer
Research interests: Micropaleontology, Biostratigraphy, Stratigraphy/Sedimentology, Paleontology
jcoenen30@niu.edu


Joshua Ehlich

B.S., Geology, Grand Valley State University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic geology, magmatic-hydrothermal systems, metallic ore deposits, experimental mineralogy and petrology
jehlich@niu.edu
Website: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/joshua-ehlich/5a/128/78b


Ty EnglerTy Engler

B.S., Geology, University of South Alabama
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Carbonate sedimentology/stratigraphy
z1780008@students.niu.edu


Surya FreemanSurya Freeman

B.S., University of Dayton
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Hydrogeology
sfreeman3@niu.edu


Edwin GreenwoodEdwin Greenwood

B.S., Mathematics - University of Wisconsin - Platteville
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Dr. Carpenter, Dr. Lenczewski, and Dr. Fischer
Research interests: Engineering Geology, Hydrogeology and Petroleum Geology
egreenwood@niu.edu


Bailey KreagerBailey (Zo) Kreager

B.S., Marietta College - Geology
M.S., University of Nebraska-Lincoln - Earth and Atmospheric Science
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Nicole LaDue
Research interests: Geoscience education
bkreager1@niu.edu


Garima LohaniGarima Lohani

B.S., Black Hills State University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology
Z1807130@students.niu.edu


Jacob LuttrellJacob Luttrell

B.S., Geology, Brigham Young University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Studying lakes in Estonia for evidence of mid-Holocene climate for the Baltic region
jluttrell1@niu.edu


Sammy MallowSammy Mallow

B.S., Geology, Wheaton College (IL)
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Cambodian Hydrogeology, Water resources in developing countries, International work
sammy.mallow@my.wheaton.edu


Jessica McKayJessica McKay

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Adviser: Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Contaminant Hydrogeology, Water resources
jmckay1@niu.edu


Matt MeyersMatt Meyers

B.S., Geology, Illinois State University
M.S., Illinois State University
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Melissa Lenczewski
Research interests: Hydrogeology
mmeyers4@niu.edu


Justin MooreJustin Moore

B.S., Purdue University - Computer Science
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Nicole LaDue
Research interests: Technology integration with geoscience visualization and education
itsmoore@gmail.com


Philip MoorePhilip Moore

B.S., Geology - University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Jim Walker
Research interests: Volcanology, Geophysics
Z1806315@students.niu.edu


Peter MortensenPeter Mortensen

B.S., University of Wisconsin - Anthropology
M.A., University of Minnesota - Anthropology
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Advisor: Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Quaternary climate change
mortensen.peter@outlook.com


Elizabeth OlsonElizabeth Olson

B.A., Geology/Anthropology, University of Florida
M.S., Climate and Quaternary Studies, University of Maine
Degree Seeking: Ph.D.
Adviser: Justin Dodd
Research interests: Environmental Geochemistry and Paleoclimate
ejolson@niu.edu


Steve PerdziolaSteve Perdziola

B.S., University of Pittsburgh
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Nathan Stansell
Research interests: Paleoclimatology
sperdziola1@niu.edu


Angela ReddickAngela Reddick

B.S. degrees in Geoscience and Mathematics
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Karen Samonds and Reed Scherer
Research interests: Any kind of Dinosaur, but looking specifically at Allosaurus
areddick@niu.edu


George ReoGeorge Reo

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Mark Frank
Research interests: Economic geology and petrology
greo1@niu.edu


Marley RockMarley Rock

B.S., Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisors: Mark Frank
Research interests: Geochemistry and petrology
rock.marlena@gmail.com


Amber SandersonAmber Sanderson

B.S., University of South Alabama, Geology
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Mark Frank, Jim Walker and Justin Dodd
Research interests: Geochemistry and volcanology
z1779965@students.niu.edu


Josh SchwartzJosh Schwartz

B.S., Nuclear Engineering Technology, Thomas Edison State College
B.S., Geology, Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Research interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Geophysics, Paleontology
joshua.schwartz@niu.edu


Kevin VoelzKevin Voelz

B.S., Northern Illinois University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Jim Walker
Research interest: Igneous Petrology
kvoelz1@niu.edu


Valerie VoisinValerie Voisin

B.S., Grand Valley State University
Degree Seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Justin Dodd
Research interests: Oceanography, Hydrology, Sedimentology, Geophysical Methods
Z1836554@students.niu.edu


Scott WoodsScott Woods

B.S., University of Iowa
Degree seeking: M.S.
Advisor: Phil Carpenter
Research interests: Geophysics and hydrogeology
z1737291@students.niu.edu