Skip navigation

Full-Time Faculty and Research Scientists

Philip J. Carpenter
Professor
pjcarpenter@niu.edu
815-753-1523
DH 417D

Justin P. Dodd
Associate Professor
jdodd@niu.edu 
815-753-1943
DH 413A
Mark P. Fischer
Professor and Chair
mfischer@niu.edu 
815-753-0523
DH 312

Mark R. Frank
Associate Professor
mfrank@niu.edu 
815-753-8395
DH 409

Nicole D. LaDue
Assistant Professor
nladue@niu.edu
815-753-7935
DH 302C

Melissa Lenczewski
Associate Professor
lenczewski@niu.edu 
815-753-7937
DH 411

Ross D. Powell
Professor
rpowell@niu.edu 
815-753-7952
DH 311-1 

Reed Scherer
Professor
reed@niu.edu 
815-753-7951
DH 301A 

Nathan D. Stansell
Assistant Professor
nstansell@niu.edu 
815-753-1943
DH 416B

Paul R. Stoddard
Associate Professor
pstoddard@niu.edu 
815-753-7929
DH 502

Jim Walker
Professor
jwalker@niu.edu 
815-753-7936
DH 412A
Anna Buczynska
Research Associate
abuczynska@niu.edu
815-753-7945
DH 504A

Staff

Name Title Email Phone Office
Mark Howland Cartographer m.howland@niu.edu  815-753-6831 DH 402
Nina Slack Office Manager nslack@niu.edu  815-753-7925 DH 312
Patricia Liberty-Baczek Office Support Specialist plb@niu.edu  815-753-1778 DH 312

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty and Laboratory Professionals 

Name Title Email Phone Office
B. Brandon Curry Section Head, Senior Quaternary Geologist b-curry@illinois.edu  217-224-5787
Madan Maharjan Visiting Assistant Professor mmaharjan@niu.edu 815-753-1943 DH 417B
Virginia L. Naples Assistant Professor vlnaples@niu.edu 815-753-7820 MO 336
Karen E. Samonds Associate Professor ksamonds@niu.edu  815-753-3201 MO 434
Josh Schwartz Lab Manager joshua.schwartz@niu.edu  815-753-7930 DH 411B