The General Education Committee

Committee Responsibilities

The General Education Committee is responsible for the oversight of the General Education Program and is a standing committee of the Baccalaureate Council (Bylaws Article 15.6.2). The voting members of the committee consist of a constituency of faculty members from all NIU colleges with undergraduate degree programs, and three undergraduate students. As part of its responsibilities, the committee reviews and revises the program goals as needed. In addition, the committee selects courses for the program that are consistent with the general education goals. For inclusion in the program, courses must be submitted for a comprehensive review by the committee. See General Education applications.

2016-2017 Members

Lei Zhou, Business
Amy Stitch, Education
Engineering & Engineering Technology
Bette Montgomery, Health and Human Sciences
Leslie Matuszewich, Liberal Arts & Sciences - Social Sciences
Alan Polansky, Liberal Arts & Sciences - Natural Sciences
David Gorman, Liberal Arts & Sciences – Humanities
Mary Quinlan, Visual & Performing Arts

Anne Birberick, Vice Provost
Edward Klonoski, Jr., Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Christopher Parker, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Outcomes Assessment
Michelle Pickett, Director, Academic Advising Center, advisor representative