People - NIU - Foreign Languages & Literatures

People

Faculty

Katharina Barbe, PhD (German)
Associate Professor & Chair
Watson Hall 111
(815) 753-1259
kbarbe@niu.edu
Frances Jaeger, PhD (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 311
fjaeger@niu.edu
Francisco Solares-Larrave, PhD (Spanish)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 311
fsolares@niu.edu
Shannon Becker, PhD (French)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 314
(815) 753-6462
sbecker@niu.edu
Joanna Kot, PhD (Russian)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 312
(815) 753-6460
jkot@niu.edu
Mandy Faretta-Stutenberg, PhD (Spanish)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 117
(815) 753-8396
mfs@niu.edu
John Bentley, PhD (Japanese)
Professor & Assistant Chair
Watson Hall 120
(815) 753-6451
jbentley1@niu.edu
Karen Lichtman, PhD
(Spanish Linguistics & Teacher Licensure)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 112
(815) 753-6443
klichtman@niu.edu
Tharaphi Than, PhD (Burmese)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 122
(815) 753-6453
tthan@niu.edu
Anne Birberick, PhD (French)
Associate Professor & Vice Provost
Altgeld Hall 220
(815) 753-0494
annie@niu.edu
Eloy Merino, PhD (Spanish)
Professor
Watson Hall 115
emerino@niu.edu
Kanjana Thepboriruk, PhD (Thai)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 335
(815) 753-6535
kanjana@niu.edu
Dennis Brain, PhD (German)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 308
(815) 753-6445
dbrain@niu.edu
Chris Nissen, PhD (Italian)
Professor & Coordinator of Graduate Studies
Watson Hall 113
(815) 753-6444
cnissen@niu.edu
Stephen Vilaseca, PhD (Spanish)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 315
(815) 753-6463
svilaseca@niu.edu
Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz, PhD
(German & FL Technology)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 317
(815) 753-6465
jpcooke@niu.edu
Linda Saborío, PhD (Spanish)
Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
Watson Hall 118
(815) 753-6448
lsaborio@niu.edu
Simon Yoassi (French)
Visiting Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 117
(815) 753-8396
syoassi@niu.edu
Mary Lee Cozad, PhD (Spanish)
Assistant Professor
Watson Hall 116
(815) 753-6447
mcozad@niu.edu
Matthew Smith, PhD (French)
Associate Professor
Watson Hall 314
(815) 753-6462
msmith6@niu.edu

Instructors

Lucinda Alwa, PhD (Classics)
Instructor
Watson Hall 316
(815) 753-6464
lalwa@niu.edu
Concepcion Gliesman, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 309
(815) 753-6457
cgliesma@niu.edu
Dawn Rogodzinski-Lisa, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 301
(815) 753-6918
drogi@niu.edu
Emilio Aviles-Casquet, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 313
eaviles@niu.edu
Taylor Hartman, MS (ASL)
Instructor
Watson Hall 340
thartman3@niu.edu
Lanhui Zhang Ryder, EdD (Chinese)
Instructor
Watson Hall 310
(815) 753-6458
lryder@niu.edu
Richard Beyogle, PhD (French)
Instructor
Watson Hall 313
rbeyogle@niu.edu
Emily Knudson-Vilaseca, PhD (Portuguese)
Instructor
eknudsonvilaseca@niu.edu
Misato Sekita (Japanese)
Instructor
Watson Hall 123
msekita@niu.edu
James Byrd, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 313
jbyrd@niu.edu
Kheang Leang, MA (Khmer)
Instructor
Watson Hall 310
(815) 753-6458
kleang1@niu.edu
Laura Steele, PhD (Classics)
Instructor
Watson Hall 316
(815) 753-6464
lsteele@niu.edu
Kerry Chermel, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 119
(815) 753-6450
kchermel@niu.edu
Kristi McAuliffe, PhD (German)
Instructor
Watson Hall 123
kmcauliffe@niu.edu
Friedemann Stuebing, MA (German)
Instructor
Watson Hall 123
(815) 753-1501
fstuebing@niu.edu
Lady Cohen, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 313
lcohen@niu.edu
Candace Medina, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 316
(815) 753-6464
cmedina@niu.edu
Dawn Westhoff (ASL)
Instructor
Watson Hall 340
dwesthoff1@niu.edu
Debra Currere, MA (Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 301
(815) 753-6918
dcurrere@niu.edu
Patrick O’Connor, MA (French & Spanish)
Instructor
Watson Hall 310
(815) 753-6458
poconnor2@niu.edu
Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail, MA (Tagalog)
Instructor
Watson Hall 309
(815) 753-6457
rgallocrail@niu.edu
Richard Rice, MA (French)
Instructor
Watson Hall 122
(815) 753-6453
rrice@niu.edu

Teaching and Grad Assistants

William Avila (Classics)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
wavila1@niu.edu
Salvador Macias (Spanish)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
smacias@niu.edu
Wina Tirtapradja (Indonesian)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
wtirtapradja@niu.edu
Marie Decano (Tagalog)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
mdecano@niu.edu
Mary Okeyo (Swahili)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
mokeyo1@niu.edu
Elizabeth Unruh (Classics)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
eunruh1@niu.edu
Victor Estanislao (Spanish)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
vestanislao1@niu.edu
Piansin Pinchai (Thai)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
ppinchai@niu.edu
John Wells (FL Residence Program)
Graduate Assistant
Watson Hall 121
(815) 753-6422
jwells3@niu.edu
Sylvia Ginting (Indonesian)
Teaching Assistant
Watson Hall 119
(815) 753-6450
sginting1@niu.edu
Ilya Startsev (Russian)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
skushubekova1@niu.edu
Sabie Zenku-Baftiri (French)
Teaching Assistant
DuSable Hall 137
(815) 753-9143
szenkubaftiri1@niu.edu
Rahmi Hartati (Indonesian)
Teaching Assistant
Watson Hall 119
(815) 753-6450
rhartati1@niu.edu
Thandar Swe (Burmese)
Fulbright Teaching Assistant
Zulauf 620/622
tswe@niu.edu

Staff

Peggy Durbala, MA (Spanish & Teacher Licensure)
Supportive Professional Staff
Watson Hall 114
(815) 753-6449
pdurbala@niu.edu
Lynne Meyer
Staff
Watson Hall 111
(815) 753-1501
lmeyer@niu.edu
Greg Ross, PhD (Foreign Language Residence Program & French)
Supportive Professional Staff
Watson Hall 121
(815) 753-6452
gross@niu.edu
Renée Kerwin
Staff
Watson Hall 111
(815) 753-6441
rkerwin@niu.edu
Grant Olson, PhD (Language Learning Center & Thai)
Supportive Professional Staff
Watson Hall 101
(815) 753-6455
golson@niu.edu

Retired Faculty and Staff

James Collins, PhD (Malay)
Professor
John Hartmann, PhD (Thai)
jhartman@niu.edu
Maryline Lukacher, PhD (French)
mlukache@niu.edu
Louise Ciallella, PhD (Spanish)
lciallella@niu.edu
Patricia Henry, PhD (Indonesian)
phenry@niu.edu
Michael Mazzola, PhD (French & Italian)
mmazzola@niu.edu
William Harrison, PhD (Spanish & Portuguese)
wharrison@niu.edu