Skip navigation

Department Directory

Faculty

Name Area Title Email Phone Office
Katharina Barbe German Associate Professor and Chair kbarbe@niu.edu 815-753-1259 WH 111
Shannon Becker French Assistant Professor sbecker@niu.edu 815-753-6462 WH 314
John Bentley Japanese Professor and Assistant Chair jbentley1@niu.edu 815-753-6451 WH 120
Dennis Brain German Associate Professor dbrain@niu.edu 815-753-6445 WH 308
Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz German and FL Tech Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies jpcooke@niu.edu 815-753-6448 WH 118
Mary Lee Cozad Spanish Assistant Professor mcozad@niu.edu 815-753-6447 WH 116
Mandy Faretta-Stutenberg Spanish Linguistics Assistant Professor and Director of Basic Language Program mfs@niu.edu 815-753-8396 WH 117
Frances Jaeger Spanish Associate Professor fjaeger@niu.edu WH 311
Joanna Kot Russian Professor jkot@niu.edu 815-753-6460 WH 312
Karen Lichtman Spanish Linguistics and Educator Licensure Assistant Professor klichtman@niu.edu 815-753-6443 WH 112
Greg Newall Spanish Visiting Assistant Professor gnewall@niu.edu 815-753-6465 WH 317
Chris Nissen Italian Professor cnissen@niu.edu 815-753-6444 WH 113
Linda Saborío Spanish Associate Professor, Faculty Senate President, Executive Secretary of University Council lsaborio@niu.edu 815-753-9306 AL 103
Matthew Smith French Assistant Professor msmith6@niu.edu 815-753-6462 WH 314
Francisco Solares-Larrave Spanish Associate Professor fsolares@niu.edu WH 311
Tharaphi Than Burmese Assistant Professor tthan@niu.edu 815-753-6453 WH 122
Kanjana Thepboriruk Thai Assistant Professor kanjana@niu.edu 815-753-6535 WH 335
Stephen Vilaseca Spanish Associate Professor svilaseca@niu.edu 815-753-6463 WH 315

Instructors

Name Area Email Phone Office
Lucinda Alwa Classics lalwa@niu.edu 815-753-6464 WH 316
Rahmi Aoyama Indonesian rhartati1@niu.edu 815-753-6450 WH 119
Emilio Aviles-Casquet Spanish eaviles@niu.edu WH 313
James Byrd Spanish jbyrd@niu.edu WH 313
Kerry Chermel Spanish kchermel@niu.edu 815-753-6450 WH 119
Lady Cohen Spanish lcohen@niu.edu WH 313
Debra Currere Spanish dcurrere@niu.edu 815-753-6918 WH 301
Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail Tagalog rgallocrail@niu.edu 815-753-6457 WH 309
Taylor Hartman ASL thartman3@niu.edu WH 340
Carolina Hererra cherrera2@niu.edu WH 317
Anastasia Kocher Russian akocher1@niu.edu WH 123
Emily Knudson-Vilaseca Portuguese eknudsonvilaseca@niu.edu
Kathy Kuschman kathykuschman@gmail.com WH 112
Kheang Leang Khmer kleang1@niu.edu 815-753-6458 WH 310
Candace Medina Spanish cmedina@niu.edu 815-753-6464 WH 316
Patrick O’Connor French and Spanish poconnor2@niu.edu 815-753-6458 WH 310
Dawn Rogodzinski-Lisa Spanish drogi@niu.edu 815-753-6918 WH 301
Lanhui Zhang Ryder Chinese lryder@niu.edu 815-753-6458 WH 310
Misato Sekita Japanese msekita@niu.edu WH 123
Laura Steele Classics lsteele@niu.edu 815-753-6464 WH 316
Friedemann Stuebing German fstuebing@niu.edu 815-753-1501 WH 123
Dawn Westhoff ASL dwesthoff1@niu.edu WH 340

Teaching and Graduate Assistants

Name Area Title Email Phone Office
Aura Beatriz Amad Spanish Teaching Assistant aamad1@niu.edu 815-753-9143 DH 137
Anastasiia Bugai Russian Teaching Assistant abugai1@niu.edu 815-753-9143 DH 137
Ken Calang Tagalog Fulbright Teaching Assistant kcalang@niu.edu
Arkar Kyaw Burmese Fulbright Teaching Assistant akyaw@niu.edu ZH 620/622
Xiaqion (Lara) Hu Classics Teaching Assistant xhu1@niu.edu 815-753-9143 DH 137
Joyce Masso Swahili Teaching Assistant jmasso1@niu.edu 815-753-9143 DH 137
Reza Maulana Indonesian Fulbright Teaching Assistant rmaulana@niu.edu ZH 620/622
Edgar Morales-Villagrana Spanish Teaching Assistant emoralesvillagrana1@niu.edu 815-753-9143 DH 137
Duangkamon Winitkun Thai Fulbright Teaching Assistant dwinitkun@niu.edu ZH 620/622

Staff

Name Title Email Phone Office
Lynne Meyer Main Office Staff lmeyer@niu.edu 815-753-1501 WH 111
Chelsea Duis Office Manager cfrost1@niu.edu 815-753-6441 WH 111
Concepcion Gliesman Coordinator, Foreign Language Residence Program cgliesma@niu.edu 815-753-6452 WH 121