Skip navigation

Jocelyn Zambrano

Name: Jocelyn Zambrano

Major(s): Psychology

Year in School: First-semester transfer

Mentor: Julia Ogg

Hometown: Woodstock, IL

Read my blog!

About:

I am also involved in:
University Honors Program

Scholarships I have received include:
Chi Upsilon Chapter Graduating Student Scholarship

An academic goal
I want to continue learning how to be a good student. I believe that you can never stop learning. I am determined to find multiple mentors in my college experience. I would like develop and maintain a GPA of 3.75 and above throughout my time at NIU. Having a GPA with NIU will put me in the running to be a member of Psi Chi. I also want to graduate as an Honor's student. I want to seek out other things I can be involved in. Ultimately, I would love to graduate with a Bachelors of Science in Psychology from Northern Illinois University. GO HUSKIES!

Career goal: 
I want to absorb what I am being taught and put my knowledge to good use. I hope that, during my time at NIU, I find out where I fit in the world of Psychology. I know I want to help improve the lives of young children. I want to help whether it be working with them directly in a school setting or in the lab. I want to broaden my reach to the multiple stages of life. I would like to write a book that will help an older generation reconnect with the amazing qualities and memories of their life.

How will Research Rookies help you further your academic and career goals?
Research Rookies is giving me the opportunity to explore the field of Psychology. They will help build my professional skills and my leadership skills. Research Rookies will give me an amazing experience of asking the right questions, developing a project, seeing it through to the end, and sharing my information with others. I expect to learn a lot about the challenges of research, the process of research, and the purpose of research. Research Rookies will also help me network with faculty and peers. Research Rookies will show me how to carry myself as a student and some day as a professional.

What hobbies to you enjoy? What do you do in your free time? And/or what are a few fun facts about you?
I love taking pictures and videos of everything (there are currently 5,035 pictures on my phone). I take pictures of places I go and things I see. I have a baby sister named Natalia. I record every precious thing she does, that includes blinking and breathing. I am a first generation student; I enjoy quizzing my younger brother about college terminology. I love visiting the city with my boyfriend. I also enjoy going on outings with my family on Sunday. I like trying new things and enjoying the little things in life. I literally have stopped to smell roses before.