Deborah Robertson - NIU - College of Visual & Performing Arts

Deborah RobertsonDeborah Robertson, Associate Dean

Phone: 815-753-8374
Fax: 815-753-8372

Deborah Robertson is the Associate Dean of the NIU College of Visual and Performing Arts. Prior to her appointment as Associate Dean, she served as Undergraduate Advisor for the School of Theatre and Dance and as Head of the B.F.A. Acting Program.

Deborah received her M.F.A. in Dance Performance from Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts, while on a teaching fellowship, and her B.A. in Dance, from the University of Colorado, Boulder. She is a certified teacher of the Williamson Physical Training for the Actor, and was trained by Loyd Williamson at the Actors Movement Studio in New York City. She has studied Laban Movement Analysis at the Laban/Bartenieff Institute in New York and the Royal National Theatre in London. She is currently studying the work of Michael Chekhov with the Michael Chekhov Association (MICHA). As an actress she completed the two-year Meisner training with William Esper in New York City.

Ms. Robertson is a professor in the School of Theatre and Dance at Northern Illinois University, an U/RTA, NAST program. She teaches movement in the B.F.A. and M.F.A. Professional Training Programs. She has previously been on the faculties of the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University, the Actors Movement Studio in New York City and the Actors Center in Chicago. She has taught workshops internationally, at national conferences, residencies in university programs, and private studios nationwide.

Her work as a choreographer and movement coach has been performed internationally, in regional theatres, university productions, and on television. As an actress and dancer, she has appeared on Broadway, National Tours, Off Broadway, industrials, regional theatres, and television. Recently she received a grant to complete work on the creation of a digital video documentary of Loyd Williamson and the movement training that he created.

Deborah serves as the president of the Association of Theatre Movement Educators (ATME), and is a member of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE), the Michael Chekhov Association (MICHA), Actors Equity (AEA) and the Screen Actors Guild (SAG).