Retired Faculty Associates

Richard M. Cooler

Professor Emeritus, Art History. Ph.D., Cornell University
Burma, Thailand
rmcooler@niu.edu 


Lee Dutton, Jr.

Assistant Professor/Librarian Emeritus, Donn V. Hart Southeast Asian Library Collection. M.A., University of Hawaii; M.A.L.S., University of Michigan 
Southeast Asia-General
ldutton@niu.edu 


Kuo-Huang Han

Professor Emeritus, Music. Ph.D., Northwestern University 
Southeast Asia-General
khan@niu.edu 


John Hartmann

Professor Emeritus, Foreign Languages and Literatures. Ph.D., University of Michigan 
Thai 
hartmann.jf@gmail.com  


George "Jim" Henry

Professor Emeritus, Computer Science. Ed.D., Northern Illinois University 
Indonesia, Malaysia
henry@cs.niu.edu


Patricia Henry

Professor Emerita, Foreign Languages and Literatures (Indonesian). Ph.D., University of Michigan 
Indonesia 
phenry@niu.edu


Dwight Y. King

Professor Emeritus, Political Science. Ph.D., University of Chicago 
Indonesia, East Timor


Arlene Neher

Director Emerita, External Programming, Liberal Arts and Sciences. Ph.D., Northern Illinois University 
Thailand
aneher@niu.edu 


Clark Neher

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, Political Science. Ph.D., University of California-Los Angeles 
Thailand, Philippines
cneher@niu.edu


Barbara Posadas

Professor Emerita, History. Ph.D., Northwestern University 
Filipino-Americans 
bposadas@niu.edu 


Ronald Provencher

Professor Emeritus, Anthropology. Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley 
Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand
rprovenc@juno.com


Harold Smith (1916 - 2010)

Professor Emeritus, Sociology. Ph.D., Cornell University.
Thailand, Philippines


M. Ladd Thomas

Professor Emeritus, Political Science. Ph.D., Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University 
Thailand, Philippines
adavis@niu.edu  (Specify message is for Dr. Thomas in subject line)


U Saw Tun

Associate Professor Emeritus, Foreign Languages and Literatures (Burmese). M.A., Rangoon University 
Burma/Myanmar 
sawtun@niu.edu


Constance Wilson (1937 - 2010)

Professor Emerita, History. Ph.D., Cornell University 
Thailand, Southeast Asia-General


Curtis H. Wood

Associate Professor Emeritus, Public Administration. Ph.D., University of Kansas 
Thailand 
chwood@niu.edu