Contact Us

Department Contact Information

Main Office

Location: 210 Watson Hall DeKalb
Phone: 815-753-1563
Fax: 815-753-7109

Mailing Address

Northern Illinois University
Department of Communication
DeKalb, IL 60115-2854

Department Chair, Assistant Chair, Office Administrator Contact Information

Office Administrator, Mary Ann Lalowski

Phone: 815-753-1564
Office: Watson Hall 210

Chair, Gary Burns
gburns@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7028

Assistant Chair, Karen Whedbee
kwhedbee@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6990

Undergraduate Program Contact Information

Main Office: Watson Hall 209

Director, Gretchen Bisplinghoff
gbisplin@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7107
Office: Watson Hall 207

Undergraduate Program Advisor, Susan Oppenborn
soppenborn1@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-5354
Office: Watson Hall 217

Undergraduate Office Support Specialist, Nathan Rice
nrice1@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-1712
Office: Watson Hall 209

Internship Coordinator, Cathy Doederlein
cdoederlein1@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-1016
Reavis Hall 306A

Graduate Program Contact Information

Main Office: Reavis Hall 107

Graduate Director, Kathleen Valde
kvalde@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7106
Office: Watson Hall 205

Graduate Office Support Specialist, Jerri Reynolds
jreynolds3@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-1925
Office: Reavis Hall 107

COMS 100 Program Contact Information

Main Office: Watson Hall 216

Director, Ferald Bryan
fbryan@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-7100
Office: Watson Hall 216

100P Coordinator, David Simon
dsimon@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6999
Office: Watson Hall 232

100 Coordinator, Tim Pierce
RhetoricalFusionDude@niu.edu
Phone: 815-753-6999
Watson Hall 232

Department Technical Support Contact Information

Main Office: Watson Hall 228A

Jason Larry
Technical Support Coordinator
jlarry@niu.edu
Phone: 815-761-3495

Mike Corvino
Technical Support Specialist
mgentile2@niu.edu
Phone: 815-761-7329

Faculty & Staff Directory

Professors
Instructors
Staff
Teaching Assistants