Argonne User Facility Awareness and Utilization Workshop

Morning session:
Argonne User Facilities and Sciences

Zhili Xiao, Professor, Department of Physics

9:00 am Opening remarks
Dr. Lesley Rigg, Vice President for Research and Innovation Partnerships
9:10 am Access to Argonne's Center for Nanoscale Materials
Dr. Kathleen Carrado Gregar, Manager, CNM User & Outreach Programs
9:50 am The Electron Microscopy Center at Argonne
Dr. Dean Miller, Director, Electron Microscopy Center
10:30 am Introduction to the Advanced Photon Source
Dr. Susan White-DePace, Manager, APS User Program Office
11:10 am X-ray Scattering of Particle Assemblies
Dr. Byeongdu Lee, Physicist, X-ray Scattering Division, Argonne
11:50 am Panel discussion
Dr. Gregar, Dr. Miller, Dr. White-DePace, and Dr. Lee
Noon Break for Lunch

Afternoon session: 
NIU Utilization of Argonne User Facilities

Victor V. Ryzho, Associate Professor, Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry

1:30 pm Understanding biological structure at the atomic level to aid protein engineering and drug design
Dr. James R. Horn, Associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
2:00 pm Organosilicate nanoparticles: Versatile nanoscopic building blocks
Dr. Venumadhav Korampally, Assistant professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering
2:30 pm Nanomaterials for energy applications
Ms. Lauren Grabstanowicz, Ph.D. student, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
3:00 pm Measurements of protein diffusion using coherent X-ray scattering
Dr. Laurence Lurio, Chair and Professor, Department of Physics
3:30 pm Superconductors in confined geometries
Dr. Zhili Xiao, Professor, Department of Physics
4:00 pm Discussion
4:30 pm Closing