Graduate Student Directory

Updated 7/16/14

Heather Barkholtz

Heather Barkholtz
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
hbarkholtz@niu.edu
B.S., University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh


Joy Blain

Joy Blain
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
jblain@niu.edu
B.S., Governors State University


Derek Burnet

Derek Burnet
M.S. Candidate
Biochemistry
dburnet@niu.edu
B.S., Southern Illinois University


Congling Chen

Congling Chen
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
cchen@niu.edu
B.S., Hubei University, China


Bridget Durfey

Bridget Durfey
Ph.D. Candidate
Inorganic Chemistry
bdurfey3@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Makafui Gasonoo

Makafui Gasonoo
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
mgasonoo1@niu.edu
B.S., Kwame Nikrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana


Lauren Grabstanowicz

Lauren Grabstanowicz
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
lgrabstanowicz@niu.edu
B.S., Lewis University


Brian Hartnett

Brian Hartnett
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
bhartnett@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Kimberly Henderson

Kimberly Henderson
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
khenderson2@niu.edu
B.S., Lewis University


Qinglong Jiang

Qinglong Jiang
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
qjiang2@niu.edu
M.S., University of Central Florida


Michael Lesslie

Michael Lesslie
Ph.D. Candidate
Analytical Chemistry
mlesslie@niu.edu
B.A., Elmira College


Brian Muller

Brian Muller
M.S. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
bmuller1@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Timothy Perkins

Timothy Perkins
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
tperkins4@niu.edu
B.S., Maryville University of St. Louis


Kate-Leigh Pilson

Kate-Leigh Pilson
Ph.D. Candidate
Analytical Chemistry
kpilson@niu.edu
B.S., Elmhurst College


Tirtha Sibakoti

Tirtha Sibakoti
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
tsibakoti1@niu.edu
B.S., Truman State University


Kaitlynn Sullivan

Kaitlynn Sullivan
M.S. Candidate
Biochemistry
ksullivan4@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Michael Thompson

Michael Thompson
M.S. Candidate
Biochemistry
mthompson8@niu.edu
B.S., University of Illinois at Chicago


Sami Varjosaari

Sami Varjosaari
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
svarjosaari@niu.edu
M.S., University of Oxford


Dean Walters

Dean Walters
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
dwalters3@niu.edu
B.S., University of California, Berkeley


Sally Yacout

Sally Yacout
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
syacout1@niu.edu
B.S., Meredith College


Matthew Zielinski

Matthew Zielinski
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
mzielinski@niu.edu
B.S., Carthage College

Eyrusalam Bedasso

Eyrusalam Bedasso
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
ebedasso@niu.edu
B.S., University of Wisconsin - Madison


Kenneth Boblak

Kenneth Boblak
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
kboblak1@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Sudeshna Chakraborty

Sudeshna Chakraborty
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
schakraborty@niu.edu
B.S., University of Calcutta, India


Ashley DeLio

Ashley DeLio
Ph.D. Candidate
Inorganic Chemistry
adelio1@niu.edu
B.S., Carthage College


Tsehaye Eyassu

Tsehaye Eyassu
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
teyassu1@niu.edu
B.S., University of Asmara, Eritrea


Gashaw Goshu

Gashaw Goshu
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
ggoshu@niu.edu
B.S., Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia


Dionne Griffin

Dionne Griffin
Ph.D. Candidate
Interdisciplinary
dgriffin2@niu.edu
B.S., Miami University


Travis Helgren

Travis Helgren
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
thelgren@niu.edu
B.S., Knox College


Sriram Jakkaraju

Sriram Jakkaraju
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
sjakkaraju1@niu.edu
M.S., Governors State University


Devi Kalyan Karumanchi

Devi Kalyan Karumanchi
Ph.D. Candidate
Physical Chemistry
dkarumanchi@niu.edu
M.S., Governors State University


Sean McIlrath

Sean McIlrath
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
smcilrath@niu.edu
B.S., Northland College


James O'Sullivan

James O'Sullivan
Ph.D. Candidate
Nanotechnology
josullivan2@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Andrii Piatkivskyi

Andrii Piatkivskyi
Ph.D. Candidate
Analytical Chemistry
piatkivskyi1@niu.edu
B.S., Termopil State Technical University, Ukraine


Ahmad Qarah

Ahmad Qarah
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
aqarah1@niu.edu
M.S., Western Illinois University


Christopher Smith

Christopher Smith
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
csmith73@niu.edu
B.S., Biology, University of Illinois


Mai Thao

Mai Thao
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
mthao@niu.edu
M.S., California State University, Sacramento


Jennifer Tournear

Jennifer Tournear
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
jtournear@niu.edu
B.S., Western Illinois University


Michael Vega

Michael Vega
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
mvega5@niu.edu
B.S., Northern Illinois University


Phumvadee Wangtrakuldee

Phumvadee Wangtrakuldee
Ph.D. Candidate
Biochemistry
pwangtrakuldee@niu.edu
M.S., Kalamazoo College


Zheng Zhang

Zheng Zhang
Ph.D. Candidate
Organic Chemistry
zzhang1@niu.edu
M.S., Southern Medical University, China