Faculty Directory

Below is an alphabetical listing of tenured and tenure‐track faculty. Please see Adjunct/Visiting Faculty and Emeritus Faculty for additional profiles.

FR—Faraday Hall
FW—La Tourette Hall (Formerly Faraday West)


Gary M. Baker

Gary M. Baker
Associate Professor
Co‐coordinator of Graduate Career and Professional Development

Office: FW 426
Phone: (815) 753‐6875
gbaker@niu.edu


David S. Ballantine

David S. Ballantine
Associate Dean LA&S
Office: FW 424
Phone: (815) 753‐6857
dballant@niu.edu


Elizabeth R. Gaillard

Elizabeth R. Gaillard
Presidential Research Professor
Joint Appointment in Biological Sciences

Office: FW 322
Phone: (815) 753‐6908
gaillard@niu.edu


Thomas M. Gilbert

Thomas M. Gilbert
Associate Professor
Office: FW 309
Phone: (815) 753‐6896
tgilbert@niu.edu


Timothy J. Hagen

Timothy J. Hagen
Associate Professor
Office: FR 350
Phone: (815) 753‐1463
thagen@niu.edu


Oliver Hofstetter

Oliver Hofstetter
Associate Professor
Office: FW 428
Phone: (815) 753‐6898
ohofst@niu.edu


James R. Horn

James R. Horn
Associate Professor
Office: FW 432
Phone: (815) 753‐8654
jrhorn@niu.edu


Narayan S. Hosmane

Narayan S. Hosmane
Distinguished Research Professor and Board of Trustees Professor
Office: FR 305
Phone: (815) 753‐3556
hosmane@niu.edu


Douglas A. Klumpp

Douglas A. Klumpp
Professor
Office: FR 356
Phone: (815) 753‐1959
dklumpp@niu.edu


Victor V. Ryzhov

Victor V. Ryzhov
Associate Professor
Office: FW 425
Phone: (815) 753‐6955
ryzhov@niu.edu


Lee S. Sunderlin

Lee S. Sunderlin
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Office: FW 327
Phone: (815) 753‐6870
sunder@niu.edu


Ralph A. Wheeler

Ralph A. Wheeler
Professor and Chair
Office: FR 320
Phone: (815) 753‐1131
rwheeler5@niu.edu


Tao Xu

Tao Xu
Associate Professor
Office: FW 412
Phone: (815) 753‐6357
txu@niu.edu


Chong Zheng

Chong Zheng
Professor
Office: FW 326
Phone: (815) 753‐6871
czheng@niu.edu