Faculty Directory

Below is an alphabetical listing of tenured and tenure-track faculty.  Please see Adjunct/Visiting Faculty and Emeritus Faculty for additional profiles.

Faraday Hall (FR);  La Tourette Hall (FW) - formerly Faraday West


Marc J. Adler, Assistant Professor

Marc J. Adler
Assistant Professor
Office: FR 343
Phone: (815) 753-9236
mjadler@niu.edu


Gary M. Baker, Associate Professor

Gary M. Baker
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

Office: FW 426
Phone: (815) 753-6875
gbaker@niu.edu


David S. Ballantine, Associate Professor

David S. Ballantine
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Office: FW 424
Phone: (815) 753-6857
dballant@niu.edu


Jon W. Carnahan, Professor and Chair

Jon W. Carnahan
Professor and Chair
Office: FR 320; FW 411
Phone: (815) 753-1181
carnahan@niu.edu


Elizabeth R. Gaillard, Professor

Elizabeth R. Gaillard
Presidential Research Professor
Joint Appointment in Biological Sciences

Office: FW 322
Phone: (815) 753-6908
                      gaillard@niu.edu


Thomas M. Gilbert, Associate Professor

Thomas M. Gilbert
Associate Professor
Office: FW 309
Phone: (815) 753-6896
tgilbert@niu.edu


Timothy J. Hagen, Assistant Professor

Timothy J. Hagen
Assistant Professor
Office: FR 350
Phone: (815) 753-1463
thagen@niu.edu


Oliver Hofstetter, Associate Professor

Oliver Hofstetter
Associate Professor
Office: FW 428
Phone: (815) 753-6898
ohofst@niu.edu

James R. Horn, Associate Professor

James R. Horn
Associate Professor
Office: FW 432
Phone: (815) 753-8654
jrhorn@niu.edu


Narayan S. Hosmane, Professor

Narayan S. Hosmane
Distinguished Research Professor and Board of Trustees Professor
Office: FR 305
Phone: (815) 753-3556
hosmane@niu.edu


Douglas A. Klumpp, Professor

Douglas A. Klumpp
Professor
Office: FR 335
Phone: (815) 753-1959
dklumpp@niu.edu


Victor V. Ryzhov, Associate Professor

Victor V. Ryzhov
Associate Professor
Office: FW 425
Phone: (815) 753-6955
ryzhov@niu.edu


Lee S. Sunderlin, Associate Professor

Lee S. Sunderlin
Associate Professor
Office: FW 327
Phone: (815) 753-6870
sunder@niu.edu


Tao Xu, Associate Professor

Tao Xu
Associate Professor
Office: FW 412
Phone: (815) 753-6357
txu@niu.edu


Chong Zheng, Professor

Chong Zheng
Professor
Office: FW 326
Phone: (815) 753-6871
czheng@niu.edu