Skip navigation

Faculty Directory

Below is an alphabetical listing of tenured and tenure‐track faculty.
See Adjunct/Visiting Faculty and Emeritus Faculty for additional profiles.

Gary M. Baker Gary M. Baker
Associate Professor
Co‐coordinator of Graduate Career and
Professional Development

La Tourette Hall 426
(815) 753‐6875
gbaker@niu.edu
Douglas A. Klumpp Douglas A. Klumpp
Presidential Research, Scholarship
and Artistry Professor

Faraday Hall 356
(815) 753‐1959
dklumpp@niu.edu
David S. Ballantine David S. Ballantine
Associate Dean, CLAS
La Tourette Hall 424
(815) 753‐6857
dballant@niu.edu
Irina Nesterova Irina Nesterova
Assistant Professor
La Tourette Hall 433
(815) 753‐6853
inesterova@niu.edu
Elizabeth R. Gaillard Elizabeth R. Gaillard
Presidential Research Professor
Joint Appointment in Biological Sciences

La Tourette Hall 322
(815) 753‐6908
gaillard@niu.edu
Victor V. Ryzhov Victor Ryzhov
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

La Tourette Hall 425
(815) 753‐6955
ryzhov@niu.edu
Thomas M. Gilbert Thomas M. Gilbert
Associate Professor
La Tourette Hall 309
(815) 753‐6896
tgilbert@niu.edu
Lee S. Sunderlin Lee S. Sunderlin
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

La Tourette Hall 327
(815) 753‐6870
sunder@niu.edu
Timothy J. Hagen Timothy J. Hagen
Associate Professor
Faraday Hall 350
(815) 753‐1463
thagen@niu.edu
Ralph A. Wheeler Ralph A. Wheeler
Professor and Chair
Faraday Hall 320
(815) 753‐1181
rwheeler5@niu.edu
Oliver Hofstetter Oliver Hofstetter
Associate Professor
La Tourette Hall 428
(815) 753‐6898
ohofst@niu.edu
Tao Xu Tao Xu
Professor
La Tourette Hall 412
(815) 753‐6357
txu@niu.edu
James R. Horn James R. Horn
Associate Professor
La Tourette Hall 432
(815) 753‐8654
jrhorn@niu.edu
Chong Zheng Chong Zheng
Professor
La Tourette Hall 326
(815) 753‐6871
czheng@niu.edu
Narayan S. Hosmane Narayan S. Hosmane
Distinguished Research Professor and
Board of Trustees Professor

Faraday Hall 305
(815) 753‐3556
hosmane@niu.edu

Contact Us

Northern Illinois University
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faraday Hall, Room 319
DeKalb, IL  60115

(815) 753‐1131

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo