Marc J. Strauss - NIU - Board of Trustees

Marc StraussMarc J. Strauss

Term Expires:  January 16, 2017

Board Vice Chair
Chair - Finance, Facilities and Operations Committee
Member - Academic Affairs, Student Affairs and Personnel Committee
Member - Compliance, Audit, Risk Management and Legal Affairs Committee
Member - Legislative Affairs, Research and Innovation Committee
Chair - Ad Hoc Committee on Enrollment
Member - Ad Hoc Committee on Governance


Office Address:

The Foster & Buick Law Group, LLC
Of Counsel
2040 Aberdeen Court
Sycamore, IL  60178

Professional Experience:

  • Attorney (Current)
    The Foster & Buick Law Group, LLC
  • Principal
    Marc J. Strauss, Attorney, and Marc J. Strauss Real Estate 
  • General Counsel 
    First Rockford Group, Rockford, Illinois
  • Partner (2000 - 2001)
    Smith, Strauss, Tucker & Brown, Sycamore, Illinois
  • Partner (1990-2000)
    Smith & Strauss, Sycamore, Illinois


  • J.D. 1979, M.M. 1976, B.A. 1975, Northwestern University, Evanston and Chicago, Illinois

Public Service:

  • Board of Trustees, Northern Illinois University (2005-present)
  • TAILS Humane Society, Board Member (2000-2003)
  • DeKalb Chamber of Commerce Board Member (1996-2002), Chair (2001)
  • DeKalb County Building and Development Assoc. Board Member (1992-1998), Counsel (1992-2001)
  • DeKalb Park District Steering Committee for Nehring Center for Culture and Tourism (2001)
  • City of DeKalb Police Chief Selection Committee (2000)
  • City of DeKalb Fire Department Master Planning Committee (1999-2000)
  • DeKalb County Board Technology Advisory Committee (1999-2000)
  • Kishwaukee-DeKalb Kiwanis (1993-2001), President (1998-1999)

Professional Memberships:

  • DeKalb County Bar Association (1991-present)
  • Kane County Bar Association Member (1991-2001), Family Law and Civil Practice Committees (1991-1993), Probate and Corporate Committees (1994)
  • Chicago Bar Association Member (1979-present), Real Property Law Committee (1981-1986)
  • Illinois State Bar Association Member (1979-present), Real Estate Law Section Council (1991)
  • DeKalb County Estate Planning Council Member (1991-2001), President (1993-1995)
  • International Council of Shopping Centers (2001-present)
  • Illinois Association of Realtors (2004-present)
  • National Association of Realtors (2004-present)
  • Rockford Area Association of Realtors (2004-present)