Frequently, faculty note that they have a buildup of old courses. Former Courses cannot be removed by the Faculty Member; they are left in place for a minimum of 13 months because of the possibility of grade appeals. Older courses will be expunged by the system administrator according to a pre-set schedule after the 13 month period. Faculty will be sent notification before the deletion process begins and will be reminded to archive any older courses they wish to retain.
Old course Shells, however, can be deleted through the Remove Shell command in the Blackboard Faculty Tools. We highly recommend that faculty verify which shells are old and which are vital before deleting any shells; deletion is a permanent process. To minimize error, go to the Courses tab and print out the page. Then, go through the list of courses and mark on the printout which shells should be removed. When requesting shell removal, refer to the course ID on the printout to be certain you are removing the correct shell.
Over the past few semesters I have used BlackBoard in several courses. Now I have acquired several inactive courses in my list of courses in Blackboard and I want to delete or archive them so students won't be confused or distracted. How can I do this?
Students cannot see courses from previous semesters, so there is no need to worry about students being confused or distracted by old courses. There is an automated process that runs 2 weeks after the semester ends that sets all Blackboard courses from the semester just completed to Unavailable. In Blackboard, any course that is Unavailable is not accessible to the students enrolled in it (ie: it's invisible to the students - it won't show up in their courses listing).
However, when a course is Unavailable it will still by default show up in your My Courses module on the Blackboard Gateway. You can customize your listing of courses by clicking on the Gear icon in the upper-right corner of the MyCourse module. On the Personalize: MyCourse page, remove the checkmark next to any course you no longer want to see in MyCourses and click the Submit button. To show a previously hidden course, follow the same procedure, placing a checkmark to the right of the courses you wish to see.
Courses remain in Blackboard for 13 months after the end of the semester for grade appeal reasons. After that time they are removed. Faculty are reminded prior to this process to archive their course materials, saving a copy of them for personal use in the future. Instructions are provided at: www.niu.edu/blackboard/build/migration/archive.shtml.
Using the Blackboard Faculty Tools, faculty members can request that any course that begins with the word "shell" be removed. Faculty cannot, however, remove older Scheduled Sections; instead, the campus Blackboard Administrative team has established a schedule for course removal. Scheduled Sections will be retained for a minimum of 13 months, in case of a grade appeal. Faculty are reminded to Archive any courses they wish to retain prior to course removal. Click here for instructions on archiving course materials.
Yes. You can customize your listing of courses by clicking on the Gear icon in the upper-right corner of the MyCourse module. On the Personalize: MyCourse page, remove the checkmark next to any course you no longer want to see in MyCourses and click the Submit button. To show a previously hidden course, follow the same procedure, placing a checkmark to the right of the courses you wish to see.
No. It is the university policy that Blackboard courses are retained on the system for a minimum of 13 months following the end of the semester in which they were taught. Courses which have been hidden from the My Courses module in the Blackboard Gateway can be accessed on the Courses tab.
Last Updated: 05/09/2011