_banner_calendar

 

Hoarding & Looting Programming Schedule

Tuesday, March 4
Visiting Artist Carrie M. Becker, Slide Talk
Jack Arends Hall/Visual Art Building 103, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Monday, March 17
Visiting Artist Robert Reed, Slide Talk
Altgeld Hall 315, 7:15-8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, April 1
"The Social Spaces of Hoarding"
Diane M. Rodgers, Associate Professor, NIU Department of Sociology
Altgeld Hall 315, 5:00-5:50 p.m.

Thursday, April 3
Public Reception with informal gallery talks and artist performance
NIU Art Museum
4:30-7:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 5
Hoarding, Amassing and Excess Gallery Talk
NIU Art Museum
1:00-2:00 p.m.

Tuesday, April 8
"Looting the Past, Robbing the Future: A Classical Archaeologist's Perspective"
Sinclair Bell, Associate Professor, NIU School of Art Division of Art History
Altgeld Hall 315, 4:00-5:15 p.m.

Wednesday, April 9
J. Thomas Pallas, Editor-in-chief, The Institute for Encyclopedic Amalgamation, Artist’s slide talk
Altgeld Hall 315, 7:15-8:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 10
“Psychological Aspects of Hoarding: Cognitive, Emotional and Behavioral Factors that Contribute to Excessive Saving and Acquiring”
Arielle P. Rogers, Graduate Student, NIU Department of Psychology
Altgeld Hall 315, 5:00-5:50 p.m.

Tuesday, April 15
Visiting Artist Celeste Rapone, Slide Talk
Jack Arends Hall/Visual Art Building 103, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

 

Wednesday, April 16

“Repatriation and its Ills; A Heretic’s Reflections”
Eric Ledbetter, Altgeld Hall 315, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

(Eric Ledbetter cancelled due to a family-related health issue)

Newly-scheduled, back-to-back Presentations:

“Looted Heritage and the Museum: The Role of Unprovenienced Objects within Archaeological Collections” 
Jack Green, Chief Curator, Oriental Institute Museum, University of Chicago

-AND-

“Looting and Loss: Cultural Heritage in Iraq and Syria” 
Katharyn Hanson, Visiting Manager, Archaeological Site Preservation Program at the Iraqi Institute for the Conservation of Antiquities and Heritage, and Secretary for the U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield

Altgeld 315, 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 17
“From DeKalb Back to Burma: The Saga of the Looted Buddha“
Catherine Raymond, Associate Professor Art History, Director, Center for Burma Studies, Curator, Burma Art Collection at NIU
Altgeld Hall 315, 5:00-5:50 p.m.

Saturday, April 26
Sewing Up Loose Ends
Visiting Artist Jaclyn Mednicov stitching in the gallery
NIU Art Museum
1:00-3:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 3
Get-On-The-Bus Trip
The House on the Rock
Explore an amassed array of amazing collections at Wisconsin’s # 1 Tourist Attraction
8 a.m.-8 p.m.
$$$, Pre-registration Required

Tuesday, May 6
Hoarding, Amassing and Excess Gallery Talk
NIU Art Museum
4:40-5:40 p.m.

Tuesday, May 13
Film Screening and Discussion
Rape of Europa
2006 documentary on Nazi looting and art repatriation. 117 minutes
Montgomery Auditorium, 7:15-10 p.m.

Thursday, May 15
The Meanings of Objects
Poetry Recital and Reading
Altgeld Hall 315, 7:15-8:30 p.m.

Past Events

View Event Photos from past events.