Awards List

Anthropology Club Members:

Emily Dow, President
Dustin Hume, Vice President
Anna Martinez, Secretary
Paje Champney, Treasurer

Anthropology Club Members

Undergrad Scholars:  Graduating Seniors with a 3.3 GPA or higher

Charles Bendig
Emily Dow
Katy Gilbert
Stephanie King
Nathan Kooi
Kristen Mattison
Steven Osikowicz
Steven Ruszczak
Undergraduate Scholars

Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Voted on by Faculty

Charles Bendig & Kristen Mattison

Outstanding Undergraduate

Dubowksi Fellowship Award:

The students selected by the Anthropology Department executive committee to receive the award were Elisabeth Wright and Robert Mullin. Ms. Wright is an Anthropology major with a Southeast Asian Studies minor. She plans on using the funds to attend the NIU Field School in Thailand this summer being run by Dr. Molnar in our Department. The field school in Thailand gives students first hand experience in cultural anthropological field methods. In addition, students have the opportunity to experience and understand how different ethnic groups in Thailand relate to each other. Mr. Mullin is an Anthropology major with a Medieval Studies minor. He plans on using the funds to attend the NIU Archaeology Field school in Sicily, Italy this summer. We know that one reason Gayle was interested in anthropology was her desire travel. We are pleased that this year we can provide two anthropology undergraduate students with the opportunity to study abroad as a legacy to Gayle’s name.

Joe Dubowski, Robert Mullin, Elisabeth Wright, Kendall Thu

Dean's Award:

This honor is presented annually to the graduating senior majoring in anthropology who has achieved both a strong record of scholarship (e.g. high grade point average) and made outstanding contributions to the university community.

Dean's Award Recipient, Steven Osikowicz

Foundation Award:

A limited amount of funds are available to subsidize graduate students who are conducting fieldwork for their MA degree in Anthropology. These funds can be used for travel to the field site, fees associated consulting collections and other research costs.

Ileana Diaz
Michael Genova 
Poonatree Jiaviriyaboonya
Jason Marshall
Mu-Lung Hsu
Ryan Keller

Foundation Award Winners

Outstanding Graduate Students:

Brett McCabe 
Rebecca Winker

Outstanding Graduate Brett McCabeOutstanding Graduate Rebecca Winker

Outstanding Faculty:  Voted by Students the Previous Year

Michael Kolb

Outstanding Faculty Michael Kolb