Skip navigation

Staff

Karen Baker

Karen L. Baker, J.D.
Associate Vice President and Title IX Coordinator
815-753-6017  |  klbaker@niu.edu  | titleixcoordinator@niu.edu

Led the creation of Affirmative Action and Equity Compliance; oversees all Title IX compliance activity across the university; facilitates change management operations; reports to senior management and the executive vice president and provost.

Photo Not AvailableMarlene Bryant
Academic Employee and Labor Relations Assistant
815-753-0457  |  mbryant@niu.edu

Academic liaison for the academic collective bargaining labor contracts and employee (non-collective bargained) work-related issues and fitness for duty requests.

Sarah Garner

Sarah Garner (Adamski), J.D.
Director of Investigations and Deputy Title IX Coordinator
815-753-5560 |  sadamski1@niu.edu

Manages affirmative action and Title IX investigations. Implements strategies and processes for complaints and investigations.

Angie VargasAngélica Gutiérrez-Vargas
Assistant Equal Opportunity Officer
815-753-6089  |  avargas@niu.edu

Assists the associate vice president with administrative support and special projects. Coordinates and manages department related programs and initiatives. Serves as a liaison with various external agencies and/or university constituencies across campus.

   

Lindsay Hatzis, J.D.
Affirmative Action, Equity, and Compliance Investigator
815-753-1649  |  lhatzis@niu.edu

Conducts investigations and interviews concerning incidents of possible discrimination, harassment, retaliation or other violations of various federal, state and university laws, regulations, policies and procedures. Researches, gathers, preserves and analyzes evidence/information to determine the outcome of the investigation and recommended corrective action and/or resolution. Assists with workplace inquiries and the ADA accommodations process.

Rose HentonRose M. J. Henton
Director of Coordinated Education, Training and Outreach Programs
815-753-2632  |  rhenton@niu.edu

Facilitates the identification, development and collaboration of services and programs on compliance education/training programs for Title IX, affirmative action, equal employment, Violence Against Women's Act (VAWA) and other related equity compliance functions.

Jackie A. Hessian, J.D.
Assistant Director of Employee and Labor Relations
815-753-6053  |  jhessian@niu.edu

Serves as contract administrator for non-academic collective bargaining agreements. Conducts investigations in response to grievance and disciplinary/discharge hearings, appeals, mediations and unfair labor practices.

Michelle JohnsonMichelle Johnson
Title IX Investigator
815-753-6042  |  mjohnson1@niu.edu

Conducts Title IX investigations across the university; documents and reports findings. 

D. Lance LockettD. Lance Lockett, J.D. 
Title IX Investigator
815-753-2434  |  dlockett1@niu.edu

Investigates Title IX/Sexual misconduct complaints; conducts applicable legal research as it relates to the current trends and laws governing sexual misconduct in higher education. Identifies effective communication methods for the dissemination of information to campus constituencies; Assists with the development and implementation of applicable policies and response procedures. 

Jesse PerezJesse Perez
Director, Employee and Labor Relations
815-753-5057  |  jperez1@niu.edu

Provides guidance and counsel to employees and managers regarding employee relations matters, dispute resolution, employee disciplinary actions, and collective bargaining agreements. Assists managers with the interpretation of policies and procedures.

Elizabeth SchwartzElizabeth Schwartz
Program Services Aide
815-753-6030  |  eschwartz@niu.edu

Provides clerical support for Title IX and affirmative action reports and inquiries. Assists with special projects.

Roselyn SnellRoselyn Snell
Director, Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity
815-753-6038  |  rsnell@niu.edu

Administers the affirmative action plan and equal employment opportunity hiring process; provides consultation to determine best recruitment practices related to diversity programming, workplace protocols and recruitment and retention methodologies. 

Susan SwegleSusan A. Swegle
Assistant Director, Training and Outreach 
815-753-6540  |  sswegle1@niu.edu 

Conducts various training including but not limited to, Title IX/sexual misconduct, non-discrimination, harassment, workplace bullying, equal employment, equity and compliance and supervisor training; Assists in ensuring that education, training, campus and community collaboration activities are conducted, managed and maintained.

Contact Us

Affirmative Action and Equity Compliance
1515 West Lincoln Highway
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-1118
aaec@niu.edu