+ The university reserves the right to proceed against violators either in accordance with assessments listed herein or in accordance with the laws of the State of Illinois.
+ Parking permits are required, as posted, even during semester and holiday break periods and when classes are not in session.
+ Parking citations may be issued to a permit holder and/or vehicle registrant when any provision of the regulations is not adhered to or in accordance with the laws of the State of Illinois.
+ Citations issued to a vehicle displaying a permit are the responsibility of the person to whom the permit is registered.
+ Citations issued to state-owned vehicles are the responsibility of the person to whom the vehicle was assigned at the time of the violation.
+ Citations issued to a vehicle that is not registered are the responsibility of the person to whom the vehicle is registered.
+ Vehicles may receive more than one citation during a 24-hour period.
Parking fines and amounts:
Citations may be paid on-line using Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express.
+ Altering or manufacturing a parking permit: $200
+ Failure to remove a non-current NIU parking permit: $10
+ Failure to report changes that affect parking privileges: $10
+ Failure to use flashers in a loading/unloading space: $10
+ Falsification of permit registration: $200
+ Handicapped space use violation: $250
+ Improper display of permit: $5
+ Improper parking*: $20
+ Meter violation: $20 *Note that vehicles may receive more than one citation during a 24-hour period (i.e. if parked at a 1-hour meter, you can receive one ticket for each hour that the meter is expired).
+ Moving violations, include, but are not limited to, the following: exceeding the posted speed limit, disobeying a stop sign, going the wrong way on a posted one-way street, driving off the roadway, and disobeying or moving a traffic control device: $50
+ No NIU Registration*: $50
+ Permit not displayed: $5. A No NIU Registration ticket can be reduced to Permit Not Displayed provided that your permit is valid for the lot and is presented to Campus Parking Services within 10 business days of the citation date.
+ No parking zone: $50
+ Visitor Fee: $5
+ Overtime in 15-minute space: $30 *Note that vehicles may receive a citation every 15 minutes that they are parked over the time limit.
+ Parked in any reserved spaces: $100
+ Permit not valid for lot*: $50
+ Resident restricted zone: $20
+ Unattended vehicle with the motor running*: $10
+ Unauthorized procurement, possession, transference of permit, or use of any university parking permit: $200
*Fines designated by an asterisk (*) above can be discounted to one half the amount shown if paid within 48 hours of the citation date.
Other parking administrative fees:
+ Restitution for a replacement permit: $20
+ Administrative fee: $100
Citations must be paid or appealed within 10 business days of citation issuance. Citations may be paid by mail, on-line, using the Parking Citation/Ticket Online Payment form, with Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express, in person at Campus Parking Services during business hours, or dropped in the depository on the east side of the Campus Parking Services building. We do not accept Diners Club.
Please note that the university may place financial holds on the records of students with unpaid parking assessments or may deduct via payroll for a faculty or staff member.