Spring 2016 Lecture Series 

►All lectures take place Fridays at 12 noon in Room 100 Campus Life Building, unless otherwise noted.

►All lectures are free and open to the public.


Friday, January 29

Jim Wilson (Geography), Melissa Lenczewski (Environmental Studies), NIU

Lecture title: Environmental Studies in Burma/Myanmar

Friday, February 5  ***CANCELLED***

Judy Ledgerwood, Anthropology, NIU

Lecture title: A Return to History: May Ebihara's Research in Svay Village (1959-60)

Friday, February 12

NO LECTURE

Friday, February 19

Catherine Raymond (School of Art), Carmin Berchiolly, graduate student, NIU

Lecture title: Rescuing Vanishing Art: Reverse Glass Painting in Mainland Southeast Asia

Friday, February 26

Grant Olson (Foreign Languages and Literatures), Chalermsee Olson (Founders Library), NIU

Lecture title: In Search of a Southern Thai Buddhist Artist, the Illusory Khemananda

Friday, March 4

Shane Strate, History, Kent State University

Lecture title: Thailand at the Crossroads: Why National Humiliation Matters

Friday, March 11

Helene Siebrits, Theatre, Ohio University

Lecture title: An Artistic Odyssey: A Look at the Role of One Family in Revival of the Performing Arts in Cambodia since the Fall of the Khmer Rouge

Friday, March 18

          NO LECTURE          

Friday, March 25

Duncan McCargo, Political Science, University of Leeds (visiting professor at Columbia University)

Lecture title: (Un)Happy Stories from Thailand's Constitutional Court

Friday, April 1

Trude Jacobsen, History, NIU

Lecture title: Sex Trafficking in Southeast Asia: A History of Desire, Duty and Debt

Friday, April 8*

I Made Lasmawan, Music, Colorado College

Lecture title: Teaching Balinese Culture Through Local Resources

Friday, April 15

Leslie Advincula Lopes, Ateneo de Manila University

Lecture title: Gains and Challenges of Bilateral Military Exercises in the Philippines

Friday, April 22**

Laura McDowellHopper (Pick Anthropology Museum), NIU

Lecture: Behind the Scenes at 'Storytelling: Hmong American Voices' Exhibit

*This lecture will be in Room 173, Music Building

**This lecture will be at the Pick Anthropology Museum